[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Selectmen of the Town of Williamstown as indicated in article histories. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Article I One-Day Wine and Malt Licenses
Article II Sunday Sales
The Williamstown Board of Selectmen will accept and consider applications for one-day wine and malt licenses at their regularly scheduled meetings. All applications and payment of fees must be in the hands of the Town Clerk no later than 12:00 noon on the Friday preceding the meeting. It is strongly suggested that all applicants be familiar with Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 138, and the Regulations of the Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission.
The fee, payable to the Town of Williamstown, will be as set periodically by the Board of Selectmen.
[Amended 12-26-1989; 3-23-1998]
All license applications must be signed by an active officer of the organization.
The applicant must be represented at the Board meeting before the application will be considered.
Licenses to be exercised on property other than that of the applicant must have written permission to serve on the premises by the property owner accompanying the application. In the case of the academic institutions in the community, permission to serve on the premises should come from the appropriate area of the administration.
All license applications must first be approved by the Williamstown Chief of Police, who shall make a recommendation to the Selectmen on any restrictions or qualifications with regard to the granting of said license.
Retail dealers of wine and beer must comply with certain requirements of federal laws and regulations. These regulations are outlined in a publication from the Department of the Treasury which is available in the Board of Selectmen's office. The law defines the retail dealer as a person who sells to any person other than a dealer. Every retail dealer is required to obtain a special tax stamp before commencing business. In the case of the holder of a license for a one-day wine and beer sale, the tax stamp costs $4.50, application for which may be filed with the Internal Revenue Service, 310 Lowell Street, Andover, Massachusetts 01812. Failure to comply with federal requirements carries severe penalties and renders the dealer liable to criminal prosecution.
Anyone granted this license is required to file a sales tax registration with the State Sales Tax Division, with a filing fee of $1, and the licensee must later file a return with them and pay a sales tax of 8%.
License holders are reminded of the severe penalties under MGL C. 138, § 34, regarding the handling or selling of alcoholic beverages to any person under 21 years of age. Said action shall be punished by a fine of not more than $200 or imprisonment for not more than six months, or both.
The Board of Selectmen of the Town of Williamstown requires that the applicant conform to the foregoing and may require confirmation that such compliance has been met by the applicant.
The sale of alcoholic beverages on Sundays is permitted in the Town of Williamstown.