§ 116-1Statement of purpose.
§ 116-3Registration tags.
§ 116-4Requirements for issuance of tags.
§ 116-5Application for registration.
§ 116-6Rules and operation and maintenance.
§ 116-7Sale or transfer of ownership.
§ 116-8Violations and penalties.
This chapter shall provide for the registration and licensing of bicycles in the Township of Riverside.
As used in this chapter, the following terms shall have the meanings indicated:
- Includes vehicles with two wheels 24 inches or more in diameter, one in front of the other, having a saddle-like seat for the rider, steered by a handle bar and driven by pedals.
- SIDEWALK BICYCLE
- A bicycle having a seat height of less than 24 inches when the seat is in the lowest adjustable position.
Every person required under the terms of this chapter to obtain a registration tag shall within 90 days after the effective date of this chapter apply for and procure the same from the Riverside Township Police Department. Said registration tag shall be fastened to the frame of the bicycle in a place to be determined by the Director of Public Safety. Removal of said tag shall be grounds for revocation of the registration.
No person shall willfully or maliciously remove, destroy, mutilate or alter the registration tag during the period for which such tag is operative. The substitution of registration tags not in conformity with this section is hereby prohibited.
Every person shall within 90 days after acquiring a bicycle obtain a registration tag as set forth above. A registration tag shall be valid for as long as the person owns the bicycle.
A registration tag shall only be issued by the Riverside Township Police Department upon a satisfactory showing by the applicant to the registration authority that the bicycle is in a safe mechanical condition. The applicant may be required to demonstrate his or her qualifications for operating a bicycle and his or her knowledge of the vehicular and traffic laws of the State of New Jersey applicable to bicycle signs and signals, as well as such rules and regulations as the Police Department may promulgate with the approval of the Township Committee of the Township of Riverside concerning the operation, equipment and maintenance of bicycles; provided, however, that said rules and regulations do not conflict with any existing statutes of the State of New Jersey.
The owner of any newly acquired bicycle shall make application for a registration tag for such bicycle within 90 days after the acquisition at the Riverside Township Police Department. Upon compliance by the applicant with the requirements set forth herein, the Riverside Township Police Department shall issue to the applicant the registration tag.
The Township Committee of the Township of Riverside shall cause to be issued and delivered to each applicant a printed copy of the safety rules and regulations for the use of bicycles, the substance of which shall be as follows:
Every bicycle shall be equipped with a light on the front which shall emit a white light visible from a distance of at least 500 feet to the front and with a light on the rear, in addition to which a red reflector of the minimum size of two inches in diameter which shall emit a red light visible from a distance of at least 500 feet to the rear.
No person shall operate a bicycle unless it is equipped with a bell or other device, to be approved by the Director of Public Safety, capable of giving a signal audible for a distance of at least 100 feet.
A person propelling or riding on a bicycle shall not ride other than upon or astride a permanent and regular seat attached thereto, nor shall be ride with his feet removed from the pedals or with both hands removed from the handlebars, nor shall be practice any trick or fancy riding in a street. No bicycle shall be used to carry more persons at one time than the number for which it is designed.
No person riding upon any vehicle shall attach the same or himself to any vehicle upon a roadway, and no operator of any vehicle shall knowingly allow any person riding upon any bicycle to attach the same or himself to the vehicle.
Every bicycle shall be equipped with a brake which will enable the operator to make the braked wheels skid on dry, level, clean pavement.
Every person riding or operating a bicycle shall obey all stop signs and traffic signals.
Every person riding or operating a bicycle shall be required immediately before entering a street or sidewalk from any alley or driveway to come to a complete stop for the purpose of making an observation in order to ensure that said street or sidewalk is clear of pedestrians or vehicles.
Every person operating a bicycle upon a roadway shall ride as near to the right side of the roadway as practicable, exercising due care when passing a standing vehicle or one proceeding in the same direction.
Persons riding bicycles upon a roadway shall ride in single file except on paths or parts of roadways set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles.
Regulations applicable to bicycles shall apply whenever a bicycle is operated upon any highway or upon any path set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles, subject to those exceptions stated herein.
Such other rules as may be promulgated from time to time by the Township Committee of the Township of Riverside shall apply.
Every licensee under this section who sells or transfers ownership of a bicycle shall report said sale or transfer within 72 hours to the Riverside Township Police Department by returning the license and registration tag issued to such person and at the same time furnishing the Police Department with the name and address of the person to whom the bicycle was sold or transferred.
Any person eight years of age and over who violates any of the provisions of this chapter relating to the vehicle traffic laws or the bicycle safe riding rules and regulations and the official police instructions for the safe operation of a bicycle shall be for the first offense reprimanded, in writing, by the Riverside Township Police Department, addressed to the parents or guardian of the offender, stating the nature of the violations and a warning that a repetition of the violation or any other violation must be prevented or the bicycle will be impounded for a period of time of not less than seven days nor more than 30 days, and during that period of time, the offender cannot ride a bicycle on the streets.
On the second offense, the offender will be summoned to appear at Police Headquarters with his or her bicycle, accompanied by a parent or guardian if under the age of 18 years, and after a hearing on the violation, if, in the discretion of the Director of Public Safety, it is decided to punish the offender for the violation, the offender's bicycle and registration may be impounded for a period of time not less than seven days nor more than 30 days at the discretion of the Director of Public Safety with the approval, if possible, of the parent or guardian, but the decision of the Director of Public Safety shall prevail and the bicycle shall be impounded and the violator shall not be permitted to ride a bicycle on the street.