Village of LeRoy, NY
Genesee County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Trustees of the Village of LeRoy 8-24-1965 as Article XXV of Chapter III of the Village Ordinances. Amendments noted where applicable.]
GENERAL REFERENCES

Adult uses — See Ch. 41.

§ 146-1
Sale or disposition of certain publications to minors. 

§ 146-2
Exceptions. 

§ 146-3
Prima facie evidence of intent. 

§ 146-4
Penalties for offenses. 

§ 146-1 Sale or disposition of certain publications to minors.

From and after the effective date of this chapter, it shall be unlawful for any person, firm or corporation to sell, lend, give away, furnish, exhibit or in any manner supply or permit to be sold, loaned, given away, furnished or supplied, to any person under the age of 18 years, any book, magazine, pamphlet or other publication in which there is featured, portrayed or described, either by words, pictures or drawings, any account of an indecent, immoral, obscene, lewd or lascivious nature, or of the commission or attempted commission of any of the following crimes as they are defined in the Penal Law of the State of New York, to wit: arson, assault, burglary, kidnapping, larceny, manslaughter, mayhem, murder, prostitution, rape, crime against nature and extortion.

§ 146-2 Exceptions.

The intent of this chapter is that it shall not apply to, or in any way interfere with, the usual, general dissemination of news to the public, or to any drawings or photographs necessary or proper to illustrate the same, nor shall it apply to any action either positively authorized or prohibited by the provision of the Constitution of the United States or of the State of New York or by general law.

§ 146-3 Prima facie evidence of intent.

In the event that any publication is prohibited in this chapter and such publication should be displayed in any store or other establishment or where said prohibited publication may be seen by any person under 18 years of age visiting said establishment, such display shall be prima facie evidence that the person in charge was then exhibiting the publication with knowledge of its contents and intended to sell, offer for sale or furnish such publication to one under 18 years of age.

§ 146-4 Penalties for offenses.

A violation of this chapter shall be a misdemeanor and shall be punishable by a fine of not to exceed $50. Each publication shall be deemed a separate offense.