Town of Olive, NY
Ulster County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Town Board of the Town of Olive as indicated in article histories. Amendments noted where applicable.]
[Adopted 11-10-1994 by L.L. No. 1-1994]

§ 150-1 Definitions.

Whenever used in this article, unless otherwise expressly stated or unless the context or subject matter requires a different meaning, the words and phrases shall have the meanings respectively ascribed to them by Article 1 of the Vehicle and Traffic Law of the State of New York.

§ 150-2 Overnight parking.

The parking of vehicles is hereby prohibited overnight on all town roads or highways situated in the Town of Olive, Ulster County, New York, during the period between November 1 of each year through and including April 1 of each year.

§ 150-3 Authority to impound vehicles.

Any vehicle that is parked or abandoned on any town highway or road for more than 24 hours or within the right-of-way of any town road or highway of the Town of Olive, Ulster County, New York, may be removed under the direction of the Police Department of said Town of Olive.

§ 150-4 Storage and charges.

After removal of any vehicle as provided in § 150-3 hereinabove, such vehicle so removed shall be stored in a suitable place at the expense of the owner. The owner or person in charge of such vehicle may redeem the impounded vehicle upon payment to the Town Clerk of the amount of all expenses actually and necessarily incurred in effecting such removal, together with storage charges. The said Town of Olive shall not be liable for damage or loss of property as a result of the removal or storage.

§ 150-5 Penalties for offenses.

Every person convicted of violating any provision of this article shall be guilty of a traffic infraction and shall for a first conviction thereof be punished by a fine of not more than $50 or by imprisonment for not more than 15 days, or by both such fine and imprisonment; for a second or subsequent such conviction within 18 months thereafter, such person shall be punished by a fine of not more than $100 or by imprisonment of not more than 45 days, or by both such fine and imprisonment.