[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Supervisors of Appomattox County as indicated in article histories. Amendments noted where applicable.]
STATE LAW REFERENCES
Authority to prohibit dogs from running at large — See Code of Virginia, § 3.2-6538.
Article I Statutory Provisions; Dog Licensing
Article II Dogs Running at Large
[Adopted 7-12-1993 (Ch. 44, Art. I, of the 1993 Code)]
The provisions of Title 3.2, Chapter 65, § 3.2-6500 et seq., Code of Virginia, as amended, are adopted herewith by reference to be applicable in Appomattox County, except that § 3.2-6539 shall be omitted. The requirement of Subsection (ii) or (iii) of § 3.2-6553 shall not be waived. The amounts set forth in § 3.2-6554 shall not exceed $50.
Except as hereinafter provided, it shall be unlawful for any person to own a dog four months old or over in this County unless such dog is licensed as required by the provisions of this article. Dog licenses shall run by the calendar year, namely, from January 1 to December 31, inclusive, and the license tax shall be payable at the office of the Treasurer and shall be as follows:
All dogs. Spayed or neutered: $4; not spayed or neutered: $6.
Kennel for 20 dogs: $25.
Kennel for 30 dogs: $35.
Kennel for 40 dogs: $45.
Kennel for 50 dogs: $50.
No license tax shall be charged for any dog which is trained and serves as a guide dog for a blind or hearing-impaired person.
A fee of $5 shall be charged for persons wishing to adopt a pet from the animal pound.
Duplicate tag fee: $1.
Dangerous dog fee: $50.
[Adopted 5-6-1996 (Ch. 44, Art. II, of the 1993 Code)]
It shall be unlawful for the owner of any dog to permit such dog to run at large from April 15 to May 15. Any dog shall be deemed to run at large while roaming, running or self-hunting off the property of its owner or custodian and not under its owner's or custodian's immediate control. Any person who permits his dog to run at large or remain unconfined, unrestricted or not penned up shall be deemed to have violated the provisions of this section and shall be guilty of a Class 4 misdemeanor.