Township of Knowlton, NJ
Warren County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Township Committee of the Township of Knowlton by Ord. No. 84-2 (Sec. 4-5 of the Revised General Ordinances). Amendments noted where applicable.]

§ 109-1 License required.

It shall be unlawful for any person or any body corporate to conduct a retail food establishment as defined in and governed by the Retail Food Establishment Code of New Jersey (1965), established by ordinance of the local Board of Health adopted May 1, 1970, without first having procured a license from the local Board of Health so to do or without complying with any or all of the provisions concerning operation and maintenance of the same as contained in the aforementioned Retail Food Establishment Code of New Jersey (1965).

§ 109-2 License fees.

The fees for licensure of retail food establishments are hereby fixed as follows:
A. 
Retail food establishment, permanent locale: $20 annually.
B. 
Temporary retail food establishment: $10, provided that no fee shall be charged for any temporary permit issued to a church, school, volunteer Fire Department or other charitable, religious or eleemosynary organization for any such establishment in the operation of which the members of such organization personally participate in preparing and distributing food or food products.

§ 109-3 Revocation or suspension of license.

A. 
Any license issued under the terms and provisions of this chapter may be suspended or revoked by the Board of Health of this municipality for the violation by the licensee of any provision of this section or the Retail Food Establishment Code of New Jersey (1965) or whenever it shall appear that the business, trade, calling profession or occupation of the person, firm or corporation to whom such license was issued is conducted in a disorderly or improper manner; or in violation of any law of the United States, the State of New Jersey or any ordinance of this municipality; or that the person or persons conducting the retail food establishment is of an unfit character to conduct the same; or that the purpose for which the license has been issued is being abused to the detriment of the public or is being used for a purpose foreign to that for which the license was issued.
B. 
A license issued under the terms and provisions of this chapter shall not be revoked, canceled or suspended until a hearing thereon shall have been had by the Board of Health. Written notice of the time and place of such hearing shall be served upon the licensee at least three days prior to the date set for such hearing. Such notice shall also contain a brief statement of the grounds to be relied upon for revoking, canceling or suspending such license. Notice may be given either by personal delivery thereof to the person to be notified or be deposited in the United States Post Office in a sealed envelope, postage prepaid, addressed to such person to be notified at the business address appearing upon said license. At the hearing before the Board of Health, the person aggrieved shall have an opportunity to answer and may thereafter be heard, and upon due consideration and deliberation by the Board of Health, the complaint may be dismissed or, if the Board of Health concludes that the charges have been sustained and substantiated, it may revoke, cancel or suspend the license held by the licensee.
C. 
If any such license shall have been revoked, neither the holder thereof nor any person acting for him, directly or indirectly, shall be entitled to another license to carry on the same business within the municipality unless the application for such license shall be approved by the Board of Health.

§ 109-4 Exempt activities.

No provision on this chapter shall be applied so as to impose any unlawful burden on either interstate commerce or any activity of the state or federal government.

§ 109-5 Violations and penalties.

Any person, firm or corporation who shall violate any of the provisions of this chapter shall, upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not to exceed $200 or by imprisonment in the county jail for a period of not to exceed 90 days, or by both such fine and imprisonment, and each violation of any of the provisions of this chapter and each day the same is violated shall be deemed and taken to be a separate and distinct offense.