Township of Freehold, NJ
Monmouth County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Health of the Township of Freehold 10-22-1969 (Ch. BH-VI of the Revised General Ordinances), as amended through Ord. No. BH-01-01. Subsequent amendments noted where applicable.]

§ 373-1 Applicability of state standards.

[Added 3-9-2006 by Ord. No. BH-01-06]
The provisions of N.J.A.C. 8:24-1.1 et seq. pertaining to retail food establishments and food and beverage vending machines shall be enforced in the Township of Freehold.

§ 373-2 Violations and penalties.

Violations of this chapter shall be punishable in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 361, Article I, General Penalty, of the Code of the Township of Freehold.[1]
[1]
Editor's Note: Original Sec. BH:6-1, Establishment of code, Sec. BH:6-2, Title, and Sec. BH:6-3, Public record, which previously preceded this section, were repealed 3-9-2006 by Ord. No. BH-01-06.

§ 373-3 Fees.

[Amended 11-10-2005 by Ord. No. BH-01-05]
A. 
The following fees shall be submitted to the Township of Freehold for inspections and issuance of food handlers' licenses:
(1) 
Temporary food establishments (to be open less than seven days): $25.
(2) 
One to 50 seats or less than 3,000 square feet: $100.
(3) 
Fifty-one to 200 seats or 3,000 square feet to 10,000 square feet: $200.
(4) 
Two hundred one seats or more than 10,000 square feet: $300.
B. 
Late fees. Every licensed personnel who fails to complete his/her renewal application as of January 31 of the licensing year shall be assessed a late fee equaling 50% of the license fee. The late fees are set forth as follows:
(1) 
One to 50 seats: $50 late fee.
(2) 
Fifty-one to 200 seats: $100 late fee.
(3) 
Two hundred plus seats: $150 late fee.

§ 373-4 Suspension or revocation of food handler's license.

A. 
Any license issued under the terms and provisions of this chapter may be suspended or revoked by the Board of Health of this municipality for the violation by the licensee of any provision of this chapter or Chapter 12 of the New Jersey State Sanitary Code or whenever it shall appear that the business, trade, calling, profession or occupation of the person, firm or corporation to whom such license was issued is conducted in a disorderly or improper manner or in violation of any law of the United States, the State of New Jersey, or any ordinance of this municipality, or that the purpose for which the license has been issued is being used for a purpose foreign to that for which the license was issued.
B. 
A license issued under the terms and provisions of this chapter shall not be revoked, canceled or suspended until a hearing thereon shall have been had by the Board of Health. Written notice of the time and place of such hearing shall be served upon the licensee at least three days prior to the date set for such hearing. Such notice shall also contain a brief statement of the grounds to be relied upon for revoking or suspending such license. Notice may be given either by personal delivery thereof to the person to be notified, or by depositing the same in the United States Post Office in a sealed envelope, postage prepaid, addressed to such person to be notified at the business address appearing upon said license. At the hearing before the Board of Health, the person aggrieved shall have an opportunity to answer and may thereafter be heard, and upon due consideration and deliberation by the Board of Health, the complaint may be dismissed, or if the Board of Health concludes that the charges have been sustained and substantiated, it may revoke or suspend the license held by the licensee.
C. 
If any such license shall have been revoked, neither the holder thereof nor any person acting for him, directly or indirectly, shall be entitled to another license to carry on the same business within the Township unless the application for such license shall be approved by the Board of Health, and all fees and fines are paid in full.

§ 373-5 Food handler's license required; training; regulations.

A. 
Requirement. Any person or entity owning and/or operating a retail food establishment as defined in the New Jersey State Sanitary Code must secure a food handler's license from the Township Board of Health.[1]
[Amended 3-9-2006 by Ord. No. BH-01-06]
[1]
Editor's Note: Amended at time of adoption of Code (see Ch. 361, General Provisions, Board of Health, Art. II).
B. 
Food service training. No retail food establishment shall be issued a food handler's license unless it is in compliance with this § 373-5.
C. 
Definitions. As used in this chapter, the following terms shall have the meanings indicated:
BASIC FOOD SERVICE TRAINING
A minimum five-hour general course of instruction for personnel in retail food establishments which includes instruction in proper sanitation, personal hygiene, equipment storage and handling, food preparation and handling, food microbiology and temperature control, vermin control, garbage storage and disposal and other health-related subjects. Said course of instruction shall be approved by the Board of Health.[2]
[2]
Editor's Note: Amended at time of adoption of Code (see Ch. 361, General Provisions, Board of Health, Art. II).
D. 
Participation in basic course required. The owner and/or manager of a retail food establishment, and/or any full-time employee who shall be the designated representative of either, applying for a retail food establishment license must register for and successfully complete a basic food service training course approved by the Board of Health ("certified personnel"). The person or persons chosen to attend the training must be in a position to manage the proper operation of the food establishment.[3]
(1) 
For these retail food establishments where there are over five or more employees working on the premises, in any capacity, and any given time, this course must be completed within one year of adoption of this section.
(2) 
For all retail food establishments, this course must be completed within two years of adoption of this section.
[3]
Editor's Note: Amended at time of adoption of Code (see Ch. 361, General Provisions, Board of Health, Art. II).
E. 
Presence of certified personnel.
(1) 
There shall be a certified personnel on a premises at all times during food preparation. During other times when food preparation is not taking place, there shall be a certified personnel available to the retail food establishment during its hours of operation and anytime during an emergency.
(2) 
Certified personnel shall be required to share and pass training and information on to all employees of that establishment.
F. 
Continuing education. Every certified personnel, in order to continue to enjoy that status under this section, shall be required to be recertified by successfully completing at least two hours of additional/refresher basic food service training no less frequently than every three years.
G. 
Posting of certification. Every food establishment shall cause to be posted, in a prominent location for patrons, the certification of each certified personnel.
H. 
Exemption.
(1) 
Any owner and/or manager or full-time employee of a retail food establishment producing evidence of completion of a similar or more comprehensive food handler's course shall be reviewed for acceptance and exemption by the Board of Health.
(2) 
Retail food establishments where there is no food preparation, or personal food contact, shall be exempted from this section.