## ORDINANCE NO. 23-23

# AN ORDINANCE OF THE TOWNSHIP OF DENVILLE, COUNTY OF MORRIS, STATE OF NEW JERSEY, AMENDING THE TOWNSHIP CODE TO REVISE MEMBERSHIP REQUIREMENTS FOR, AND MERGE TO THE EXTENT PERMITTED BY LAW, THE GREEN SUSTAINABLE COMMITTEE AND ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION

WHEREAS, the requirements for the Township of Denville's Environmental Commission are governed by N.J.S.A. 40:56A-1 and § 18-1 to -7 of the Township Code; and

**WHEREAS**, the membership requirements for the Township's Green Sustainable Committee are governed by § 18-16 to -19 of the Township Code ; and

WHEREAS, the Mayor and Municipal Council desire to simplify the membership requirements of the Green Sustainable Committee and merge the Committee with the Environmental Commission to the extent permitted by law, to operate in a more efficient manner and recognize and support their volunteer members, while continuing to promote environmentalism in the Township.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED**, by the Municipal Council of the Township of Denville, County of Morris, State of New Jersey, as follows:

**<u>SECTION 1.</u>** Chapter 18, Boards, Commissions and Committees, Article III, Green Sustainable Committee, is hereby amended to read as follows in its entirety.

#### § 18-16 Committee created.

There is hereby created and established a Green Sustainable Committee to assist the Township in providing guidance on ways to improve municipal operations with green initiatives which are economically and environmentally sound through research and evaluation.

#### § 18-17 Members, qualifications, terms and vacancies. [Amended by Ord. No. 5-10]

- A. The Green Sustainable Committee shall consist of 9 members, consisting of the Mayor or designee, a Council liaison appointed by the Council President, and seven members appointed by the Mayor pursuant to § 18-2A. All members shall be residents of the Township. All members shall serve without compensation.
- C. All members shall have voting rights. The Mayor or designee shall decide all tie votes.
- D. The Committee shall elect by a majority of a quorum of its membership a Chairperson, a Vice Chairperson and a Secretary. They shall be elected during the first regularly scheduled meeting of any given year and shall serve in such capacity for that year. For purposes of this section, a quorum shall consist of five members.
- E. The terms of the first appointed Committee shall be as follows: the Mayor or designee, and Council member's terms, shall run with their terms of office; three members shall be appointed for one year, two members shall be appointed for two years, and two members shall be appointed for three years. Their successors shall be appointed for terms of three

years or until the end of the term of appointment of their predecessor in the case of a resignation of vacancy.

- F. The Mayor or Municipal Council may remove any member of the Committee for cause, on written charges served upon the member and after a hearing thereon by the Municipal Council, at which the member shall be entitled to be heard in person or by counsel. Any appointed member who misses three consecutive unexcused meetings, is automatically removed from the Committee.
- G. A vacancy on the Committee occurring otherwise than by expiration of a term shall be filled for the unexpired term in the same manner as an original appointment.

## § 18-18 Powers and duties.

The Green Sustainable Committee shall have the following powers and duties, which shall be exercised within the limits of funds appropriated to the Committee:

- A. Collaborate with Township employees, service providers and other governmental agencies to share resource information and ideas consistent with the mission of the GSC.
- B. Encourage participation of all employees to solicit ideas on green initiatives.
- C. Research and analyze green initiatives which make practical environmental and financial sense.
- D. Develop strategies for sustainable green initiatives in municipal operations.

## § 18-19 Meetings; annual report.

- A. Regular meetings of the Committee shall be held at the call of the Chairperson, or, in his absence or disability, at the call of the Vice Chairperson.
- B. At all meetings, a quorum shall consist of a majority of the voting members (five) of the Committee.
- C. The Committee shall keep records of its meetings and activities and shall make an annual report to the governing body of the Township on or before the 15th day of December in each and every year.

**SECTION 2.** Chapter 18, Boards, Commissions and Committees, Article I, Environmental Commission, § 18-2A, is hereby amended to read as follows:

A. The Environmental Commission shall consist of seven members, appointed by the Mayor, one of whom shall be a Class II member of the Township Planning Board, and all of whom shall be residents of the Township. All members of the Environmental Commission shall be members of the Green Sustainable Committee; however, the Environmental Commission and Green Sustainable Committee shall each retain its applicable statutory duties, powers, and functions as set forth in N.J.S.A. 40:56A-1 et seq., Chapter 18 of the Township Code, and all other applicable law.

**SECTION 3.** Ordinances, resolutions, regulations or parts of ordinances, resolutions and regulations inconsistent herewith are hereby repealed to the extent of such inconsistencies.

**SECTION 4.** If any section, subsection, sentence, clause or phrase of this Ordinance is for any reason held to be unconstitutional or invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, such a decision shall not affect the remaining portions of this Ordinance.

**SECTION 5.** This Ordinance shall take effect twenty (20) days following final passage, approval, and publication as required by law.

BY ORDER OF THE MUNICIPAL COUNCIL OF THE TOWNSHIP OF DENVILLE

ATTEST:

APPROVED:

TARA M. PETTONÍ, RMC MUNICIPAL CLERK

MAYOR THOMAS W. ANDES TOWNSHIP OF DENVILLE

I hereby certify the foregoing to be a true copy of an ordinance adopted by the Municipal Council of the Township of Denville at its meeting held on December 5, 2023.

Tara M. Pettoni, RMC Municipal Clerk