## ORDINANCE NO. 2023-08 TOWNSHIP OF MANSFIELD WARREN COUNTY, NEW JERSEY

## ORDINANCE TO APPOINT JUDITH CURRAN AS TAX COLLECTOR AND TAX SEARCH OFFICER

WHEREAS, Joseph Guerin, Jr., of Hickory Road, LLC was appointed as the Township's full time Certified Tax Collector for a full four (4) year term commencing November 1, 2020 and Mr. Guerin was also appointed at the Tax Search Officer;

WHEREAS, Mr. Guerin will be retiring as of February 28, 2023;

WHEREAS, per N.J.S.A. 40:9-141 "Notwithstanding any other law the governing body or chief executive, shall be appropriate to the form of government of the municipality by ordinance, shall provide for the appointment of a municipal tax collector and the compensation of the tax collector shall be fixed in the manner otherwise provided by law. The governing body may, by resolution, set appropriate hours of operation of the tax collector's office and the work hours of the tax collector commensurate with the compensation paid to the tax collector, and all personnel assigned to the tax collector's office. The office of municipal tax collector and municipal treasurer, or municipal clerk may be held by the same person.

**WHEREAS,** N.J.S.A. 40:9-141 provides that the appointment of the Tax Collector shall be by Ordinance and that the appointment shall be for the unexpired term of the resigning Tax Collector pursuant to N.J.S.A. 40A:142.

**WHEREAS**, Judith Curran, the current Chief Financial Officer is a Certified Tax Collector and has the knowledge and experience to effectively execute the duties of the tax collector:

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, by the Township Committee of the Township of Mansfield, County of Warren, that Judith Curran, is hereby appointed as Tax Collector and Tax Search Officer for the unexpired term of Joseph Guerin ending November 1, 2024.

INTRODUCED/PASSED ON FIRST READING: 222

**Roll Call Vote** 

COMMITTEE MEMBER	YES	NO	ABSTAIN	ABSENT		
Mr. Farino						
Mr. Hayes	1					
Mr. McGuinness	V					
Mrs. Mora Dillon	V,					
Mayor Watters	,					

PUBLISHED: 20023

## ADOPTED:

## **Roll Call Vote**

COMMITTEE MEMBER	YES	NO	ABSTAIN	ABSENT
Mr. Farino				1
Mr. Hayes				
Mr. McGuinness	1			
Mrs. Mora Dillon				
Mayor Watters				

Jo-Ann M. Ricks Acting Municipal Clerk

Joseph Watters Mayor