[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Trustees of the Village of Lattingtown (Art. 22 of the 1998 General Ordinance Compilation). Amendments noted where applicable.]
As used in this chapter, the following terms shall have the meanings indicated:
- MOTOR VEHICLE
- Automobile, truck, motorcycle, motor bike, minibike, trail bike, go cart, snowmobile, golf cart and any other combination of materials which assembled can transport a person and is propelled by any power other than muscular power except:
- PRIVATE ROAD and PUBLIC ROAD
- Any paved or unpaved lane, road or right-of-way which appears on the Official Map of the Village or has been duly approved by the Village Planning Board.
- UNLICENSED MINOR
- Any person under the age of 21 who is not duly licensed to operate a motor vehicle in the State of New York.
- UNREGISTERED MOTOR VEHICLE
- A motor vehicle which is not registered in accordance with New York State Motor Vehicle Law for operation on public highways.
No person shall operate an unregistered motor vehicle and no unlicensed minor shall operate a registered motor vehicle:
If an unregistered or registered motor vehicle is operated by an unlicensed minor in violation of § 291-2 of this chapter any police officer shall, upon the written complaint of any resident of the Village or upon said Police Officer witnessing such violation, impound the particular motor vehicle involved in such violation and store the same with the Police Department.
When a motor vehicle is impounded pursuant to this chapter the owner may redeem same from the Police Department upon the payment of a $50 fine plus $2 for each day or fraction thereof said vehicle is stored by the Police Department. The $50 fine and storage fee shall become the property of the Village 30 days after the payment of same unless before such time the owner of said vehicle makes an application to the Village Court requesting a hearing concerning said violation. If after said hearing the Village Court decides said vehicle was used in violation of this chapter the fine and storage fee shall become Village property. If the Village Court finds that said motor vehicle was not used in violation of this chapter, said fine and storage fee shall be returned to the owner of said motor vehicle.
If an unregistered impounded motor vehicle is not redeemed within 60 days from the time it is impounded, the Police Department shall mail a notice to the owner thereof by certified mail, return receipt requested, advising him that the Village, after 30 days from the date of said notice, shall sell said motor vehicle at public auction and retain that portion of the proceeds therefrom needed for the payment of the aforementioned $50 fine and $2 per day storage fee. Any surplus monies remaining after the payment of said fine and storage fee shall be returned to the former owner of said motor vehicle.