Borough of Glen Gardner, NJ
Hunterdon County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Mayor and Council of the Borough of Glen Gardner 12-18-1979. Amendments noted where applicable.]
GENERAL REFERENCES
Vehicles and Traffic — See Ch. 154.
For the purpose of this chapter, certain terms and words are hereby described as follows:
INOPERABLE
Incapable of being legally driven or moved under its own power on the public highways of the State of New Jersey.
MOTOR VEHICLE
Includes all vehicles propelled otherwise than by muscular power, excepting such vehicles as run only upon rails or tracks.
OPERABLE
Capable of being legally driven or moved upon the public thoroughfares of the Borough of Glen Gardner, State of New Jersey. This shall include a current inspection sticker displayed in the window of the vehicle.
[Amended 3-1-1994 by Ord. No. 94-2]
UNREGISTERED
Not currently registered to be driven or moved on the public highways by the proper licensing authority, or not bearing current registration plates or tags lawfully issued by such authority for the motor vehicle involved.
No person shall leave any inoperable or unregistered motor vehicle, or any part thereof, on any public road or other public lands or premises except in case of emergency, and then for a period of no more than 24 hours.
A. 
No person shall leave or maintain any inoperable or unregistered motor vehicle, or any part thereof, on any private lands or premises for more than 15 days, whether or not consecutive.
B. 
No owner or occupier of any lands or premises shall permit or suffer any inoperable or unregistered motor vehicle, or any part thereof, to be left or maintained on his or her lands or premises for more than 15 days, whether or not consecutive.
This chapter shall not apply to motor vehicles or parts thereof located in garages or other buildings, nor to operable, but unregistered, motor vehicles displayed for sale on premises of a licensed new or used car dealer.
Any person who shall violate any provisions of this chapter shall, upon conviction thereof, be liable to a fine not exceeding $1,000, imprisonment not exceeding 90 days and/or community service not to exceed 90 days, in the discretion of the Municipal Judge. Each day that the violation continues to exist shall constitute a separate offense.
[1]
Editor's Note: Amended at time of adoption of Code (see Ch. 1, General Provisions, Art. I).