Borough of Washington, NJ
Warren County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[Adopted 5-4-1937]
This article is for the purpose of fixing license fees, regulating the sale of alcoholic beverages, the regulation and restriction of the use of licensed premises and the fixing of penalties for the violations thereof, in the Borough of Washington, in accordance with the provisions of an act of the Legislature entitled "An Act Concerning Alcoholic Beverages," Chapter 436, P.L. 1933, the amendments thereof and supplements thereto, and in accordance with the rules and regulations promulgated or to be promulgated by the Commissioner of Alcoholic Beverage Control applicable thereto, and in accordance with the rules and regulations existing or hereafter adopted by the Borough Council of the Borough of Washington not inconsistent with said act or rules and regulations of said Commissioner.
[Amended 2-21-1956; 5-27-1969 by Ord. No. 4-69]
A. 
License fees for the sale or distribution of alcoholic beverages within the Borough of Washington shall be as follows:
(1) 
Plenary retail consumption license: $720 per year.
[Amended 1-8-1974 by Ord. No. 34-73]
(2) 
Plenary retail distribution license: $720 per year.
[Amended 1-8-1974 by Ord. No. 34-73]
(3) 
Limited retail distribution license: $60 per year.
(4) 
Club license: $150 per year.
B. 
The fees herein set forth shall apply to licenses issued for the period commencing July 1, 1969, and thereafter.
[Amended 4-14-1944; 11-21-1967; 12-4-1968; 11-9-1971 by Ord. No. 14-71; 7-25-1972 by Ord. No. 9-72; 7-25-1978 by Ord. No. 12-78]
A. 
No licensee shall sell, serve or deliver or allow, permit or suffer the sale, service or delivery of alcoholic beverages or permit the consumption of alcoholic beverages on the licensed premises on weekdays between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m. and on Sundays between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 10:00 a.m., with sale, service, delivery and consumption then permitted from 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m. Monday.
B. 
During the hours when the sale of alcoholic beverages is prohibited, the entire licensed premises, except the part or parts thereof operated as a bona fide hotel or restaurant, shall be closed for business, and all curtains or blinds during said period shall be thrown open so that the premises will be open to the view of the public. All patrons and customers shall be removed from the licensed premises at 2:00 a.m.
[Amended 4-17-1944; 1-8-1974 by Ord. No. 34-73]
No person being a minor shall attempt to buy, directly or indirectly, any alcoholic beverage, nor shall any person misrepresent or misstate his own age or the age of any other person for the purpose of inducing any licensee or any employee of any licensee to sell, serve, deliver or permit the consumption of any alcoholic beverage to a person under the age provided by law.
[Amended 5-7-1957]
No premises licensed as a plenary retail consumption licensed place of business shall have connected therewith or operated in conjunction therewith a dance hall and place for holding dances or so-called floor shows or other place of amusement nor permit dances, floor shows or such entertainment to be carried on in the licensed premises; provided, however, that nothing in this section shall be deemed to prohibit a plenary retail consumption licensee whose licensed premises include a kitchen and a bona fide restaurant and dining room, adequately equipped to serve meals to at least 100 persons at one sitting, from permitting patrons to dance in such bona fide restaurant and dining room.
All licenses granted, upon being approved and granted by the governing body, shall be issued and signed by the Borough Clerk.
[Amended 4-17-1944; 12-4-1968; 1-8-1974 by Ord. No. 34-73]
No licensee, his servant or agents or employees shall sell, serve or deliver any alcoholic beverage, nor shall any such licensee, his servants, agents or employees suffer or permit the sale, service, delivery or consumption of any alcoholic beverage, directly or indirectly, to any mental defective, habitual drunkard, intoxicated person or person under the age provided by law, or permit the same to congregate in and about the licensed premises.
[Amended 4-17-1944; 1-8-1974 by Ord. No. 34-73]
Any person who shall violate any of the provisions of this article shall, upon conviction thereof, be subject to a fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for not more than 90 days, or by both such fine and imprisonment, in the discretion of the Court. Any person who shall, after conviction of one offense under this article, be convicted of a subsequent offense under this article shall be punishable by a fine of not more than $500 or by imprisonment for not more than 90 days, or by both such fine and imprisonment, in the discretion of the Court. Any license issued pursuant to this article may be suspended or revoked for violation of any of the provisions of this article or for violations of any of the provisions of said act or of any of the rules and regulations promulgated by the State Commissioner of Alcoholic Beverage Control.