Borough of Wrightstown, NJ
Burlington County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[Adopted by Ord. No. 1975-4 as Chapter VI of the Revised General Ordinances]
This article is enacted to regulate the sale and transportation of alcoholic beverages in the Borough of Wrightstown in accordance with the provisions of an act of the Legislature of the State of New Jersey entitled "An Act Concerning Alcoholic Beverages," comprising Chapter 436 of the Laws of 1933, its supplements and amendments, and also comprising N.J.S.A. 33:1-1 et seq., and in accordance with the rules and regulations of the State Director of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
For the purpose of this article, words and phrases herein shall have the same meanings as in N.J.S.A. 33:1-1 et seq., and the rules and regulations of the Director of the Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
A. 
Laws applicable. All applications for licenses, all licenses issued and all proceedings under this article shall be in accordance with the act, rules and regulations referred to in § 29-1, and all applicable laws of the State of New Jersey or the United States.
B. 
Issuing authority. All licenses required by this article shall be issued by the Mayor and Council, which shall also administer the provisions of this article.
C. 
License required. No person shall sell or distribute alcoholic beverages within the borough without obtaining a license in accordance with the act referred to in § 29-1 and the provisions of this article.
D. 
License fees. The annual fees for the sale or distribution of alcoholic beverages in the borough shall be as follows:
[Amended by Ord. No. 1996-5]
Class of License
Annual Fee
Plenary retail consumption license
$720
Plenary retail distribution license
$720
E. 
The provisions of New Jersey's State Limitation Law and as the same may be hereafter amended shall control the number of and the issuance of plenary retail consumption licenses and plenary retail distribution licenses.
[Amended by Ord. No. 1996-5; Ord. No. 1979-4; Ord. No. 1996-5]
A. 
Hours of sale. No alcoholic beverages shall be sold, delivered or served to or consumed in any licensed premises on any day between the hours of 4:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m. except New Year's Day, each as hereinafter provided.
B. 
New Year's Day. Provisions of Subsection A shall not apply on January 1. On that day alcoholic beverages may not be sold, served, delivered to or consumed in the licensed premises from the hours of 5:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m.
C. 
Sales to certain persons.
(1) 
No licensee or employee of a licensee shall sell, serve or deliver, directly or indirectly, any alcoholic beverages to any habitual drunkard, intoxicated person or minor, nor permit the consumption of alcoholic beverages on any licensed premises by any of the above-named classes or persons, or permit any such persons to congregate in or about the licensed premises.
(2) 
During the hours sale of alcoholic beverages are hereinabove prohibited, the entire licensed premises shall also be closed and no person shall be admitted or permitted to remain therein except the licensee or bona fide employees of the licensee.
D. 
Consumption of alcoholic beverages in unlicensed premises prohibited. No person owning or operating any restaurant, dining room or other public place where food or liquid refreshments are sold or served to the general public, and for which place license or permit authorizing the sale of alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption has not been issued, shall permit, allow or suffer the consumption of alcoholic beverages at such restaurant, dining room or public place.
A. 
Presence. No minor shall be allowed in any premises where alcoholic beverages are sold or served for consumption on the premises.
B. 
Purchase of alcoholic beverages by a minor. No minor shall purchase, attempt to purchase, or have another purchase for him any alcoholic beverages on any premises licensed for the sale of alcoholic beverages.
C. 
Purchase of alcoholic beverages for a minor. No person shall purchase or attempt to purchase alcoholic beverages for a minor. It shall be unlawful for any person to induce or attempt to induce any licensee or any employee of a licensee to sell, serve or deliver alcoholic beverages to a minor.
D. 
Misstating age. No person shall misrepresent his age or the age of another person for the purpose of inducing any licensee or his employee to sell, serve or deliver any alcoholic beverage to a person under 18 years or to permit a person under 18 years to remain on any premises in violation of Subsection A.
E. 
Possession. No minor shall possess, serve, sell or consume any alcoholic beverages in any public place within the borough.
A. 
Any license issued under this article may be suspended or revoked for violation of any of the provisions of this article or any provision of any applicable statute or any of the rules or regulations of the State Director of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
B. 
Proceedings for suspension or revocation shall be in accordance with the provisions of N.J.S.A. 33:1-31 by service of a five-day notice of charges preferred against the licensee and affording a reasonable opportunity for hearing.
C. 
Suspension or revocation of a license shall be in addition to any other penalty which may be imposed for a violation of this article.