[Adopted 10-16-2017 by Ord. No. 2017-7]
On any day when there is a forecasted snowfall event of three inches or more, it will be unlawful for any person to park a motor vehicle, as defined under the Motor Vehicle Code of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, contrary to the regulations hereinafter specified:
On the first day when a snowfall event is forecast of three inches or more the Municipality may restrict parking between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. or other hours as deemed appropriate by the Mayor or the Municipal Administrator. On the first day no motor vehicle shall be parked on the even-numbered side of the street between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. or other hours as deemed appropriate by the Mayor or the Municipal Administrator. This area will be designated as a "No Parking Zone" for the purpose of cleaning snow.
The following day, parking shall be prohibited on the odd-numbered side of the streets which will be designated as a "No Parking Zone" for the purpose of cleaning snow.
Vehicles not removed on designated days for snow removal as stated in this section will be ticketed and/or towed at owner's expense.
Notice of snow event parking restrictions is deemed accomplished when posted on the Kingston Pennsylvania Police Department Facebook page, communicated by the Municipality's mass communication system (currently Code Red) and/or communicated by local print, radio or television media.
The following streets shall be exempt from these regulations because of the limited availability of off-street parking or alternative parking: John Street, Pulaski Street, Mott Street, Curtis Lane, Payne Avenue, Chestnut Avenue (between Division Street and Price Street) and Spruce Street.
The "winter snow season" for the purpose of this section shall commence with the first snow event subject to the parking regulations under this section.
Increase of fines.
Fines of $5 imposed by this article shall be increased to $10 if not paid within 48 hours from the issuance of notice of violation.
Fines of $10 imposed by this article shall be increased to $15 if not paid within 48 hours from the issuance of notice of violation.
Fines of $50 imposed by this article shall be increased to $55 if not paid within 48 hours from the issuance of notice of violation.
All such fines not paid within 10 days from issuance of notice of violation shall result in the issuance of a citation therefore. Such citation shall be a summary offense and, upon conviction, the offender shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $100 and not more than $300.