[HISTORY: Adopted by the Common Council of the City of Linwood 1-24-1973 by Ord. No. 1-1973. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Mercantile licenses — See Ch. 179.
Note: The state statutes known as the "Bingo Licensing Law" and the "Raffles Licensing Law," as amended and supplemented (N.J.S.A. 5:8-24 to 77) became operative in the City of Linwood by referendum vote held on November 7, 1972.
No person shall own or operate within the City of Linwood "games of chance" as defined in the statutes dealing with legalized games of chance (N.J.S.A. 5:8-1 through N.J.S.A. 5:8-77), without obtaining a license therefor issued by the Common Council. The license shall be issued pursuant and subject to the provisions of the Bingo Licensing Law and the Raffles Licensing Law and rules and regulations issued thereunder.
Each applicant for a license under this section shall file with the City Clerk a written application as prescribed by the statute and in accordance with the rules and regulations promulgated by the Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission.
The fees payable by law are as follows:
Bingo: $10 for each occasion on which any game or games of bingo are to be conducted under the license. Five dollars of the fee for each occasion shall be remitted to the municipality in which the application is filed, and the remaining $5 of the fee for each occasion shall be remitted to the Treasurer of the State of New Jersey.
On-premise draw raffle: $5 for each day on which the same is to be conducted under the license.
Nondraw raffle: $5 for all raffles concurrently held on any one day or any series of consecutive days not exceeding six in any one week at one location.
Off-premise draw raffle: municipality, $5 for each $1,000 of retail value of the prizes or part thereof; State of New Jersey, $5 for each $1,000 of retail value of the prizes above the original one-thousand-dollar value of the prizes or part thereof.
Special door prize raffle for under $50 of value of merchandise and for which no license is required: no fee is payable.
The aforesaid games of chance may be conducted from 12:00 noon until 12:00 midnight on the same day, except that no such games of chance shall be conducted on the first day of the week.
In the event any licensee violates any provision of this chapter or of the aforementioned state statutes or the rules and regulations promulgated by the Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission or the terms of the license, the licensee shall be deemed a disorderly person. Upon conviction he shall, in addition to suffering any other penalties which may be imposed, forfeit any license issued to him under this chapter.
Any person who violates any provision of this chapter shall, upon conviction thereof, be punished by a fine not exceeding $500 or by imprisonment for a term not exceeding 180 days, or both.