[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Health of the Township of East Hanover 9-1-1981 as Art. VI of Board of Health Ord. No. 1-1981. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Chapter VI of the New Jersey State Sanitary Code regulating boarding homes for children is hereby adopted pursuant to N.J.S.A. 26:3-69.1 to 69.6. A copy of said Chapter VI of the New Jersey State Sanitary Code is annexed hereto and made a part hereof without the inclusion of the text herein.
The chapter of the New Jersey State Sanitary Code established and adopted by this chapter is described and commonly known as the "New Jersey State Sanitary Code, Chapter VI, Boarding Homes for Children."
Three copies of the New Jersey State Sanitary Code, Chapter VI, Boarding Homes for Children, have been placed on file with the Health Officer upon the introduction of this chapter and will remain on file with the Health Officer for use and examination by the public.
No person shall operate a boarding home for children unless a license or approval of an existing license to operate same shall have been issued by the Board of Health. Such license or approval of an existing license shall be posted in a conspicuous place in said boarding home.
The annual fee for a license to operate a boarding home for children shall be as set out in Appendix A, Fee Schedule, at the end of Part III of the Code.
Licenses issued or approved under the provisions of this chapter shall expire one year from the date of issuance, and application for renewal thereof shall be submitted in the form and manner prescribed by Chapter VI of the New Jersey State Sanitary Code, Section 2.2, together with the required fee, 30 days prior to the expiration date.
A license or approval of license may be suspended or revoked for a violation by the holder of any provision of this chapter or Code, after an opportunity for a hearing by the Board of Health.
A license or approval of a license is not transferable between persons or premises.
Any person who shall violate any of the provisions of this chapter shall, upon conviction, be subject to the penalties provided in § 164-14, General Provisions, Board of Health, or as otherwise provided by law.
Editor's Note: Under N.J.S.A. 26:1A-10 a violation of any provision of the State Sanitary Code is punishable by a penalty of not less than $25 nor more than $100. The penalty is recoverable in a civil action and is payable to the State Treasurer or into the treasury of the municipality, depending upon whether the State Department of Health or the local Board of Health is the plaintiff.