Borough of Westwood, NJ
Bergen County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Health of the Borough of Westwood 10-14-1964. Amendments noted where applicable.]
GENERAL REFERENCES
Board of Health — See Ch. 6, Art. IV.
Alarm systems — See Ch. 81.
Unsafe buildings — See Ch. 118.
Noise — See Ch. 221.
Property maintenance — See Ch. 260.
Registration and inspection of rental dwellings — See Ch. 272, Art. I.
Weed control — See Ch. 418.
A code defining and prohibiting certain matters, things, conditions or acts, and each of them, as a nuisance, prohibiting certain noises or sounds,[1] requiring the proper heating of apartments, prohibiting lease or rental of certain buildings, prohibiting spitting in or upon public buildings, conveyances, or sidewalks, authorizing the inspection of premises by an enforcing official, providing for the removal or abatement of certain nuisances and recovery of expenses incurred by the Board of Health in removing or abating such nuisances and prescribing penalties for violations is hereby established pursuant to Chapter 188, Laws of 1950.[2] A copy of said code is annexed hereto and made a part hereof without the inclusion of the text thereof herein.
[1]
Editor's Note: See also Ch. 221, Noise.
[2]
Editor's Note: See N.J.S.A. 26:3-69.1 et seq.
The said code established and adopted by this chapter is described and commonly known as the "Public Health Nuisance Code of New Jersey (1953)."
Three copies of the said Public Health Nuisance Code of New Jersey (1953) have been placed on file in the office of the Health Officer, Secretary, Clerk or other similar officer of this local Board of Health upon the introduction of this chapter and will remain on file there for the use and examination by the public.
Any person who violates or neglects to comply with any provision of this chapter or code established herein, or notice issued pursuant thereto, shall, upon conviction thereof, be liable to a penalty of not less than $50 nor more than $1,000 for each violation, as per N.J.S.A. 26:1A-10.
[1]
Editor's Note: Amended at time of adoption of Code (see Ch. 381, General Provisions, Art. I).