Town of New Hartford, NY
Oneida County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Town Board of the Town of New Hartford 7-11-2012 by L.L. No. 7-2012. Amendments noted where applicable.]
This organization shall be known as the "New Hartford Police Commission," created under § 150 of the Town Law.
The principal office of this Police Commission is at the Town of New Hartford Police Department.
The Commission shall review and make recommendations upon all matters that may be referred to it by the New Hartford Town Board. It may conduct hearings when deemed necessary or when directed by the Town Board. It is not the intent that this Commission usurp the powers of the Town Board with regard to issues, that have customarily been handled by the Town Board.
The business and affairs of the New Hartford Police Commission shall be managed and conducted by a Board of Commissioners, consisting of five members, who shall serve at the pleasure of the Town Board. Each Commissioner shall be appointed by the New Hartford Town Board as follows:
The initial membership of the Commission shall be made up of five members, to be selected by a lottery, for terms as follows:
Member No. 1 shall be appointed through December 31, 2013.
Member No. 2 shall be appointed through December 31, 2014.
Member No. 3 shall be appointed through December 31, 2015.
Member No. 4 shall be appointed through December 31, 2016.
Member No. 5 shall be appointed through December 31, 2017.
Each Town Board member and the Supervisor shall be entitled to select one Commissioner subject to meeting all qualifications, including a background check. Should any person entitled to make a nomination fail to do so for a period of 60 days from the date a vacancy occurs, the Town Board shall have the right to make the appointment, and the Board member who was entitled to appoint shall fill the vacancy on the Commission until the appointment is made and approved.
All members will be selected after review of their résumés. After the initial terms, all appointments shall be for a five-year term and end on December 31. No Commissioner shall be allowed to serve more than two full terms, except that members appointed for an initial term of less than five years shall be entitled to serve two full five-year terms after said initial appointment.
If a vacancy occurs, the New Hartford Town Board shall choose a replacement to serve the unexpired term.
Only residents of the Town of New Hartford are eligible to be members of the Board of Commissioners.
If a Commissioner fails to attend three consecutive regular meetings of the Board or is in violation of the Town of New Hartford Code of Ethics, there shall be a hearing before the full Board of Commissioners. If it is determined, by the majority vote of the other Commissioners, that good cause for dismissal exists, a recommendation for dismissal shall be forwarded to the New Hartford Town Board.
The Town Board shall select the Chairperson for said Commission and thereafter shall select a Chairperson at the first meeting in January of each year.
The adoption of this chapter is made pursuant to § 10 of the Municipal Home Rule Law and § 150 of the Town Law of the State of New York.
All other provisions of Chapter 24 of the Code of the Town of New Hartford, and amendments thereto, are hereby affirmed except to the extent that this chapter shall modify or amend.