Charles County, MD
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of County Commissioners of Charles County 7-18-1989 by Res. No. 89-59. Amendments noted where applicable.]
The Charles County Commissioners shall establish a Substance Abuse Advisory Council for the County, hereinafter referred to in these bylaws as the "Council."
The function of the Council shall be to:
Regularly review the availability and quality of services and facilities and determine local substance abuse program needs with special attention to prevention and aftercare.
Assist the local program directors in the development of the annual drug and alcoholism plans.
Review and comment on all local new and renewal state grant applications.
Review and comment on all federal grant applications for drug and alcoholism programs.
Advise and report annually to the County Commissioners on the progress of the local programs and actions needed for further improvements.
Make recommendations for appropriate allocation of funds in accordance with agreed upon priorities and consideration of financial resources (County, state, federal and private).
Act as local advocate for alcohol and drug abuse programming.
Membership shall consist of one representative from each of the following:
Prevention Coordinator.
Department of Social Services.
Department of Juvenile Services.
Legal profession.
School health nurses.
Jude House.
Law enforcement.
Tri-County Council.
Board of Education.
Chemical People.
Department of Mental Health.
Community Services — Aging Department.
Community Services — Recreation Department.
Community (four).
Charles County Community College.
Ex officio members shall be as follows:
County Health Officer.
Alcoholism Coordinator.
Drug Program Coordinator.
Terms of office. Terms of office shall be four years commencing from the first day of July of the year of appointment, except that the members first appointed shall finish their terms and their replacements shall go on the four-year term. Members who have served two full terms consecutively may not be eligible for reappointment for a period of four years following completion of their terms.
From its members the Council shall elect annually a Chairman, Vice Chairman and a Secretary. Elections shall be in June of each year. A Nominating Committee shall be appointed by the Chairman, to report in May.
The Council shall meet on the second Tuesday of the month. The time and place shall be decided by the Council. Notices of the meetings shall be mailed by the Secretary at least one week in advance, notice to include minutes of the previous meeting.
The Chairman shall be the chief presiding officer of the Council and shall preside at all stated meetings of the Council and shall be the Council's official spokesman.
The Vice Chairman shall perform all the duties of the Chairman in the latter's absence or inability to act. It shall be the duty of the Vice Chairman to assist the Chairman in the discharge of his official duties when requested to do so.
The Secretary shall take the minutes of each meeting of the Council and see that they are mailed to the membership with the next meeting's notice. The Secretary will keep a current mailing list of the Council.
These bylaws may be amended by a majority of those attending the meeting following the meeting at which said bylaw change was proposed.