[Adopted 2-16-2011 by L.L. No. 1-2011]
Article III Licensing Procedures and Fees
The owner of any dog reaching the age of four months shall immediately make application for a dog license. No license shall be required for any dog which is under the age of four months and which is not at large, or that is residing in a pound or shelter maintained by or under contract or agreement with the state or any county, city, or Town, duly incorporated society for the prevention of cruelty to animals, duly incorporated humane society or duly incorporated dog protective association. Except as otherwise provided in this article, a license shall be issued or renewed for a period of one year, provided that no license shall be issued for a period expiring after the last day of the eleventh month following the expiration date of the current rabies certificate for the dog being licensed. All licenses shall expire on the last day of the last month of the period for which they are issued.
Application for a dog license shall be made to the Town Clerk of the Town. The Town Board of the Town of Collins restricts the issuance of licenses to the Town Clerk.
The application shall state the sex, actual or approximate age, breed, color, and municipal identification number of the dog, and other identification marks, if any, and the name, address, telephone number, county and town of residence of the owner. The Town may also require additional information on such application as deemed appropriate.
The application shall be accompanied by:
The license fee;
Any applicable license surcharges;
Such additional fees as may be established by the Town as prescribed herein;
A certificate of rabies vaccination or statement in lieu thereof, as required herein; and
In the case of a spayed or neutered dog, a certificate signed by a licensed veterinarian, showing that the dog has been spayed or neutered, provided such certificate shall not be required if the same is already on file with the Town Clerk.
Upon validation by the Town Clerk, the application shall become a license for the dog described therein.
No license shall be transferable. Upon the transfer of ownership of any dog, the new owner shall immediately make application for a license for such dog.
The fee for a dog license shall be fixed by resolution of the Collins Town Board, provided that the total fee for an unspayed or unneutered dog shall be at least $5 more than the total fee for spayed or neutered dogs.
There shall be no exception from payment of the license fee for licenses for any guide dog, hearing dog, service dog, war dog, working search dog, detection dog, police work dog, or therapy dog.
In addition to the license fee, each applicant for a dog license shall pay a population control surcharge of $1 if the dog is spayed or neutered, or a fee of $3 if the dog is unspayed or unneutered.
In addition to the license fee, each applicant for a dog license shall pay a surcharge in an amount fixed by resolution of the Collins Town Board for the purpose of recovering costs associated with enumeration conducted pursuant to § 113(6) of the Agriculture and Markets Law.
Any dog harbored within the Town of Collins which is owned by a resident of New York City and licensed by the City of New York, or which is owned by a nonresident of New York State and licensed by a jurisdiction outside the State of New York, shall for a period of 30 days be exempt from the provisions of this section.
Each dog licensed shall be assigned, at the time the dog is first licensed, a municipal identification number. Such identification number shall be carried by the dog on an identification tag which shall be affixed to a collar on the dog at all times, provided that the municipality may provide for the exemption of dogs participating in a dog show during such participation.
No tag carrying an identification number shall be affixed to the collar of any dog other than the one to which that number has been assigned.