City of Versailles, MO
Morgan County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
There is hereby established within and for the City a Planning and Zoning Commission which shall consist of not more than fifteen (15) nor less than seven (7) members, including the Mayor, if the Mayor chooses to be a member; a member of the Board of Aldermen selected by the Board, if the Board chooses to have a member serve on the Commission; and not more than fifteen (15) nor less than five (5) citizens appointed by the Mayor and approved by the Board of Aldermen. The term of each of the citizen members shall be for four (4) years, except that the terms of the citizen members first (1st) appointed shall be for varying periods so that succeeding terms will be staggered. Any vacancy in a membership shall be filled for the unexpired term by appointment as aforesaid. The Board of Aldermen may remove any citizen member for cause stated in writing and after public hearing.
[Ord. No. 1015 §2, 4-3-1979]
The Commission shall elect its Chairman and Secretary from among the citizen members. The terms of Chairman and Secretary shall be for one (1) year with eligibility for re-election. The Commission shall hold regular meetings and special meetings as they provide by rule and shall adopt rules for the transaction of business and keep a record of its proceedings. These records shall be public records. The Commission shall appoint the employees and staff necessary for its work and may contract with City planners and other professional persons for the services that it requires. The expenditures of the Commission, exclusive of grants and gifts, shall be within the amounts appropriated for the purpose by the Governing Body.
All citizen members of the Planning and Zoning Commission shall serve without compensation.
[Ord. No. 1015 §3, 4-3-1979]
The Versailles Planning Commission shall have all of the responsibilities, duties and powers in matters of planning, zoning, subdivision, major streets planning, etc., as is provided for in Sections 89.010 through 89.490, RSMo., inclusive, and amendments thereto.