City of Fredericksburg, VA
 
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
[Code 1991, § 17-16]
A. 
Pursuant to Code of Virginia, § 58.1-605, a local general retail sales tax at the rate of 1% to provide revenue for the general fund of the City is hereby levied. Such tax shall be added to the rate of the state sales tax imposed by Code of Virginia, §§ 58.1-603 and 58.1-604. It shall be subject to all provisions of Code of Virginia, § 58.1-600 et seq., all the amendments thereto and the rules and regulations published with respect thereto.
B. 
Pursuant to Code of Virginia, § 58.1-605, the local general retail sales tax levied pursuant to this section shall be administered and collected by the state tax commissioner in the same manner and subject to the same penalties as provided for the state sales tax, with the adjustments required by Code of Virginia, § 58.1-628.
[Code 1991, § 17-17]
Pursuant to Code of Virginia, § 58.1-606, there is hereby imposed in the City a local use tax at the rate of 1% to provide revenue for the general fund of the City. The City use tax shall be added to the rate of the state use tax imposed by Code of Virginia, § 58.1-600 et seq., and shall be subject to all the provisions of that chapter, and all amendments thereof, and the rules and regulations published with respect thereto.
[Code 1991, § 17-18; Ord. No. 98-28, 11-24-1998]
A. 
Imposed. For each and every fiscal year, beginning January 1 and ending December 31 of each such year, unless otherwise changed by the City Council, there is hereby imposed and levied upon all the machinery and tools designated in Code of Virginia, § 58.1-3507 et seq., which generally describes machinery and tools used in a manufacturing or mining business, a tax of $0.80 on every $100 of assessed value thereof, for general City and school purposes. The exemption set forth in Code of Virginia, § 58.1-3508, shall apply to this tax.
B. 
Filing of returns. Machinery and tools taxes shall be based upon all such property owned by the taxpayer on January 1 of each calendar year. Every taxpayer owning property subject to taxation under this section shall file a machinery and tools tax return with the Commissioner of the Revenue on or before February 15 of each year, reflecting ownership of such property as of January 1 of that year. All such returns not filed on or before February 15 shall incur a penalty of 10% of the tax due thereon or $10, whichever is greater, for failure to file such a return on time. The Commissioner of the Revenue may, upon written request, grant a reasonable extension of time, not to exceed 90 days, for the filing of such return whenever, in the commissioner's judgment, good cause exists and provided such written request is made before the date returns are due. The commissioner shall keep a record of every extension and the reasons constituting good cause therefor.
C. 
Due date for payment; delinquency. Machinery and tools taxes shall be payable annually in two equal installments, with the first half of the total tax being due and payable on or before May 15 and the second half being due and payable on or before November 15 of each calendar year. On all such taxes remaining unpaid after the due date of such installment, there shall be added a 10% penalty plus 10% interest from the first day of the month following the due date. The treasurer shall proceed to collect such delinquent taxes in the manner described by state law and the ordinances of the City.
[Code 1991, § 17-19]
For each and every fiscal year, beginning July 1 and ending June 30 of each such year, unless otherwise changed by the City Council, there is hereby imposed and levied upon any property not taxed by the state and not otherwise included in this chapter, a tax of $2.99 for every $100 of assessed value thereof.
[Code 1991, § 17-20]
There is hereby imposed a City recordation tax in an amount equal to one-third of the amount of the state recordation tax collectible for the state for the first recordation of each taxable instrument in the City; provided, however, that, except in a case in which the state recordation tax is $0.50 specifically, where a deed or other instrument conveys, covers or relates to property located partially within the City and partially in any county or other City, the tax hereby imposed shall be computed and collected only with respect to that portion of the property located within the City.