Cass County, MO
 
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[Ord. No. 97-03 §1, 4-10-1997, 6-5-1997, 11-17-1997, 2-23-1998, 11-18-1999]
It shall be unlawful for any firm, person or corporation to operate a wrecker or tow service business within Cass County, Missouri, without first having a valid license. In order to be eligible for a license, an applicant must first have a paid personal property tax receipt from the County Collector of Cass County and be in compliance with all laws and ordinances applicable to the wrecker or tow service business. "Operating a wrecker or tow service business" shall be defined as having such a business physically located in the County or conducting more than fifty percent (50%) of its wrecker or tow service business activities within the County.
[Ord. No. 97-03 §2, 4-10-1997, 6-5-1997, 11-17-1997, 2-23-1998, 11-18-1999; Ord. No. 19-08, 12-19-2019]
The fee for the license shall be set at twenty-five dollars ($25.00), per business and ten dollars ($10.00) per vehicle, and said license shall be issued on or before January first (1st) of each year and expire on December thirty-first (31st) of the second year thereafter. There will be no prorating for this fee.
[Ord. No. 97-03 §3, 4-10-1997, 6-5-1997, 11-17-1997, 2-23-1998, 11-18-1999]
Any person operating a wrecker or tow truck within Cass County, Missouri, must have a "B" or "C" commercial driver's license or one (1) of the following if the weight applies, Class E if the gross vehicle weight is twenty-six thousand (26,000) pounds or less and Class A if the gross vehicle weight is over twenty-six thousand (26,000) pounds.
[Ord. No. 97-03 §4, 4-10-1997, 6-5-1997, 11-17-1997, 2-23-1998, 11-18-1999]
All wreckers or tow trucks with gross vehicle weight over twenty-six thousand (26,000) pounds shall be registered with the U.S. Department of Transportation and meet all requirements of the U.S. Department of Transportation.
[Ord. No. 97-03 §5, 4-10-1997, 6-5-1997, 11-17-1997, 2-23-1998, 11-18-1999]
A. 
All wreckers or tow trucks operated within Cass County, Missouri, shall be insured with liability insurance as follows:
1. 
Bodily injury liability: $100,000.00 each person; $300,000.00 each accident.
2. 
Property damage liability: $100,000.00 each accident.
B. 
All persons or businesses applying for a tow truck license must present a valid certificate of insurance showing a minimum of the liability limits above. This must be done at the time of application.
[Ord. No. 97-03 §6, 11-18-1999]
Any wrecker or tow service business licensed within Cass County, Missouri, shall maintain liability insurance with minimum limits of fifty thousand dollars ($50,000.00), which would cover any vehicle in tow.
[Ord. No. 97-03 §9, 4-10-1997, 6-5-1997, 11-17-1997, 2-23-1998, 11-18-1999]
Any person violating the provisions of this Chapter is guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof shall be fined not more than five hundred dollars ($500.00). Each day that a person fails to comply with an order of the Building Commissioner may be deemed a separate offense.
[Ord. No. 97-03 §10, 4-10-1997, 6-5-1997, 11-17-1997, 2-23-1998, 11-18-1999]
A. 
If the registration is not made and the fee is not paid in a timely manner, the following penalty shall be imposed:
1. 
First (1st) month late — seven percent (7%) of total bill.
2. 
Second (2nd) month and thereafter — two percent (2%) of total bill will be added for each month late.