City of Augusta, ME
Kennebec County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[Adopted as Ch. 6.5, Art. VI, Div. 2, of the 1990 Code]
There is hereby created a Conservation Commission consisting of seven Commissioners appointed by the City Council.
A Commissioner of the Conservation Commission shall serve a term of three years, except as provided in this section. Any Commissioner who is serving a term of more than three years on the effective date of this section may serve until his term expires.
The City Council shall appoint the first seven Commissioners appointed after the effective date of this section to terms of one, two or three years, so that upon the completion of those initial seven appointments, approximately 1/3 of the terms of the Commissioners expire each year.
The duties of the Conservation Commissioners shall be those outlined in state statute.[1]
Editor's Note: See 30-A M.R.S.A. § 3261 et seq.
Upon the recommendation of a majority of the Conservation Commissioners, the City Council members may appoint one or more Associate Commissioners to be nonvoting members of the Conservation Commission and to hold office for one, two or three years as the City Council designates.
The duties of the Associate Commissioners shall be those outlined in the state statute.
[Amended 4-1-1996 by Ord. No. 391]
The Director of Community Services, or his/her designee, shall be a nonvoting member of the Conservation Commission.