Township of Maplewood, NJ
Essex County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Township Committee of the Township of Maplewood 12-15-2015 by Ord. No. 2801-15. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Green Team — See Ch. 40.
Environmental Advisory Committee — See Ch. 53.
There is hereby created for the Township of Maplewood the Maplewood Township Sustainability Committee.
The Maplewood Township Sustainability Committee (TSC) shall coordinate the planning and implementation of municipal, community-based and intergovernmental sustainability projects. Its work shall include being the coordinating body and point of contact for the work of the Maplewood Green Team and the Township's Environmental Advisory Committee and undertaking projects such as:
Improving the energy performance of municipal buildings;
Making the Township vehicle fleet more fuel efficient;
Expanding the use of renewable energy; and
Making Township operations more sustainable.
The TSC shall ensure that sustainability principles and practices are integrated into policy, planning and development decisions of the Township and its boards and committees.
The TSC shall monitor and guide the Township's progress in meeting agreed-upon sustainability goals and objectives.
The TSC shall maintain and comply with Sustainable Jersey Certification at the highest feasible level.
The TSC standing members shall include:
Mayor, who shall serve as Chair.
Member of the Township Committee.
Township Administrator.
Township Engineer.
Public Works Department Director.
Health Officer.
Director of Community Development.
Chair or representative of the Township Environmental Advisory Committee, upon approval annually by the Township Committee.
Chair(s) or representative of the Maplewood Green Team, upon approval annually by the Township Committee.
Chair or representative of the Maplewood Planning Board, upon approval annually by the Township Committee.
Each member of the TSC shall have one vote.
The TSC shall meet at least once every two months.