[HISTORY: Adopted by the Village Board of the Village of Allouez as Ch. 350 of the Village Code. Amendments noted where applicable.]
The statutory provisions describing and defining regulations with respect to snowmobiles in the following enumerated sections of the Wisconsin Statutes, exclusive of any provisions therein relating to the penalties to be imposed or the punishment for violation of said statutes, and including the Wisconsin Statutes therein referred to, are hereby adopted and by reference made a part of this chapter as if fully set forth therein. Any act required to be performed or prohibited by any statute incorporated herein by reference is required or prohibited by this chapter. Each section of the Wisconsin Statues adopted by this chapter shall bear the same chapter and section number as it has in the Wisconsin Statutes.
No person shall operate a snowmobile upon any street or highway or within the right-of-way of any street or highway, or shall cross any street or highway while operating or directing the movement of a snowmobile from a position either on the snowmobile or off the snowmobile, other than driving or directing the movement of the snowmobile directly across such street or highway and at any angle with the edge of such roadway of as close to 90° as is reasonably possible, and then only after stopping and yielding the right-of-way to all vehicles approaching on the highway.
No person under the age of 12 years shall drive a snowmobile across any street or highway.
No person under the age of 16 years shall drive a snowmobile across any street or highway unless:
He holds a valid snowmobile safety certificate issued by the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources;
He is accompanied by a person over the age of 18 years; or
He is accompanied by a person over the age of 14 years who holds a valid snowmobile safety certificate issued by the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources.
No person under the age of 16 years shall operate a snowmobile in the Village of Allouez between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. the following day unless accompanied on the vehicle by a parent, guardian, adult relative, or other adult person having the actual care, custody, and control of such child.
Any person violating §§ 378-1 through 378-3 may be required to forfeit not less than $25 nor more than $200 for the first offense and not less than $50 nor more than $200 for the second or subsequent conviction. In addition, the court may order that the snowmobile operated in violation of said section be impounded for a period of not less than 15 nor more than 60 days, beginning at a date specified by the court. Impoundment may be effected by taking physical possession of the machine or by causing the same to be immobilized and sealed by a law enforcement officer for the specified period. Operating the impounded machine during the specified period contrary to the court's order shall constitute a punishable, separate, subsequent violation of §§ 378-1 through 378-3.
In default of the immediate payment of any forfeiture and the costs of prosecution, any person convicted of a violation of this chapter shall be committed to the Brown County jail until such forfeiture and costs are paid. Every commitment shall limit the duration of such imprisonment to a definite term not exceeding 90 days.