Town of New Hartford, NY
Oneida County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Town Board of the Town of New Hartford 3-7-2018 by L.L. No. 1-2018. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Parks — See Ch. 88
The Town of New Hartford does hereby create and establish the New Hartford Parks and Recreation Commission as authorized pursuant to General Municipal Law § 243.
The intent of this chapter is to create a Parks and Recreation Commission to supervise the operation of the Town Parks and Recreation Programs in the Town of New Hartford.
The Commission shall supervise, oversee, manage and direct the operations of each of the Town parks and all of the recreation programs provided at any of the playgrounds, parks or recreation centers by the Town of New Hartford. The Commission will have no budgetary authority.
The Commission shall be managed by a Board of Commissioners, consisting of five members who shall serve at the pleasure of the Town Board. Each Commissioner shall be appointed by the New Hartford Town Board as follows:
The initial membership of the Commission shall be made up by five members for initial terms as follows:
"Member 1" shall be appointed through December 31, 2018.
"Member 2" shall be appointed through December 31, 2019.
"Member 3" shall be appointed through December 31, 2020.
"Member 4" shall be appointed through December 31, 2021.
"Member 5" shall be appointed through December 31, 2022.
Each Town Board member and the Supervisor shall be entitled to select one Commissioner subject to meeting all qualifications, including a background check. Should any person entitled to make a nomination fail to do so for a period of 60 days from the date a vacancy occurs, the Town Board shall have the right to make the appointment, and the Board member who was entitled to appoint shall fill the vacancy on the Commission until the appointment is made and approved.
All members will be selected after review of their resumes. After the initial terms, all appointments shall be for a five-year term and end on December 31. No Commissioner shall be allowed to serve more than two full terms, except that members appointed for an initial term of less than five years shall be entitled to serve two full five-year terms after said initial appointment.
If a vacancy occurs, the New Hartford Town Board shall choose a replacement to serve the unexpired term.
Only residents of the Town of New Hartford are eligible to be members of the Board of Commissioners.
If a Commissioner fails to attend three consecutive regular meetings of the Board or is in violation of the Town of New Hartford Code of Ethics, there shall be a hearing before the full Board of Commissioners. If it is determined by the majority vote of the other Commissioners that good cause for dismissal exists, a recommendation for dismissal shall be forwarded to the New Hartford Town Board.
The Town Board shall select the Chairperson for said Commission and hereafter shall select a Chairperson at the first meeting in January of each year.