Township of Long Hill, NJ
Morris County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
This chapter is enacted to regulate the sale and transportation of alcoholic beverages in the Township of Long Hill in accordance with the provisions of an act of Legislature of the State of New Jersey entitled An Act Concerning Alcoholic Beverages, comprising Chapter 436 of the Laws of 1933, its supplements and amendments, and also comprising N.J.S.A. 33:1-1 et seq., and in accordance with the rules and regulations of the State Director of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
For the purpose of this chapter, words and phrases herein shall have the same meaning as in N.J.S.A. 33:1-1 et seq., and the rules and regulations of the Director of the Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
All applications for licenses, all licenses issued and all proceedings under this chapter shall be in accordance with the act, rules and regulations referred to in Section 6-1, and all other applicable laws of the State of New Jersey or the United States.
All licenses required by this chapter shall be issued by the Township Committee which shall also administer the provisions of this chapter.
No person shall sell or distribute alcoholic beverages within the Township without obtaining a license in accordance with the Act referred to in Section 6-1 and the provisions of this chapter.
[1967 Code §§ 5-1, 5-2; Ord. 4-7-69; Ord. 6-2-69; Ord. No. 22-78; Ord. No. 17-80; Ord. No. 18-84; Ord. No. 18-86; Ord. No. 27-92 § 1; Ord. No. 135-03 § 1; Ord. No. 188-06 § 1]
The annual fee for licenses for the sale or distribution of alcoholic beverages in the Township shall be as follows:
Class of License
Annual Fee
Number
Plenary retail consumption
$2,448
8
Seasonal retail consumption
$1,836
1
Plenary retail distribution
$1,008
3
Limited retail distribution
$63
4
Club
$188
4
The provisions of this subsection with respect to the limitation on the number of licenses shall not apply to the renewal or transfer of licenses presently issued. The license fees shall be payable in accordance with the revised statutes of New Jersey and rules and regulations promulgated by the Commissioner of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
[1967 Code § 5-3; Ord. No. 11-72]
No licensee shall sell, serve, deliver or allow, permit or suffer the sale, service or delivery of any alcoholic beverage or allow the consumption of any alcoholic beverage on the licensed premises on weekdays between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m.
[1967 Code § 5-3; Ord. No. 11-72]
No licensee shall sell, serve, deliver or allow, permit or suffer the sale, service or delivery of any alcoholic beverage or allow the consumption of any alcoholic beverage on the licensed premises on Sundays between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m.
[1967 Code § 5-3; Ord. No. 11-72]
No licensee shall sell, serve, deliver or allow, permit or suffer the sale, service or delivery of any alcoholic beverage or allow the consumption of any alcoholic beverage on the licensed premises on New Year's Day, when it is a weekday or Sunday, between the hours of 5:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m.
[1967 Code § 5-3; Ord. No. 11-72]
The sale of wine and malt alcoholic beverages in original bottle or can containers for consumption off the premises is hereby authorized on the same days and during the same hours as the sale of alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises is permitted by this section.
No licensee or employee of a licensee shall sell, serve or deliver, directly or indirectly, any alcoholic beverages to any intoxicated person or person under the legal age or permit the consumption of alcoholic beverages on any licensed premises by any of the above named persons.
[1967 Code § 5-3]
During the hours that the sale of alcoholic beverages is prohibited, the entire licensed premises shall be closed and no person shall be admitted or permitted to remain thereon except the licensee or bona fide employees of the licensee.
[1967 Code § 5-3]
The licensed premises shall at all times be free from obstructions at the entrance or windows so that the interior of said premises is clearly visible.
[Ord. No. 18-81; 1967 Code § 5-4]
No licensee shall sell, serve, deliver or allow, permit or suffer the sale, service or delivery of any alcoholic beverage to any person under the legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages.
[Ord. No. 18-81; 1967 Code § 5-4]
No licensee shall allow the consumption of any alcoholic beverage on the licensed premises by any person under the legal age or to purchase alcoholic beverages.
Any person who shall violate any of the provisions of this section shall be deemed and adjudged to be a disorderly person, and upon conviction thereof and in accordance with N.J.S.A. 33:1-81, P.L. 1985, c. 113, shall be punished by a fine of not less than $100. In addition, the Court shall suspend the person's license to operate a motor vehicle for six months or prohibit the person from obtaining a license to operate a motor vehicle in this State for six months beginning on the date he becomes eligible to obtain a license or on the date of conviction, whichever is later. In addition to the general penalty prescribed for an offense, the Court may require any person under the legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages who violates this Act to participate in an alcohol education or treatment program authorized by the Department of Health for a period not to exceed the maximum period of confinement prescribed by law for the offense for which the individual has been convicted.
Any license issued under this chapter may be suspended or revoked for violation of any of the provisions of this chapter or any provision of any applicable statute or any of the rules or regulations of the State Director of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
Proceedings for suspension or revocation shall be in accordance with the provisions of N.J.S.A. 33:1-31 by service of a five-day notice of charges preferred against the licensee and affording a reasonable opportunity for hearing.
Suspension or revocation of a license shall be in addition to any other penalty which may be imposed for a violation of this chapter.
[Ord. No. 84-01 § 3; Ord. No. 388-2016]
Any qualified civic, religious, educational, charitable, fraternal, social, or recreational nonprofit organization that wishes to serve alcoholic beverages at a social affair must first obtain a special permit directly from the Director of the Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control in accordance with the provisions of N.J.A.C. 13:2-5.1, and all other applicable, statutes, ordinances and regulations. That application which is submitted to the Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control must be endorsed by the Township Clerk and the Chief of Police.