Borough of Moonachie, NJ
Bergen County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
[1970 Code § 8-1]
This Chapter is enacted to regulate the sale and transportation of alcoholic beverages in the Borough of Moonachie in accordance with the provisions of an Act of the Legislature of the State of New Jersey entitled "An Act Concerning Alcoholic Beverages," comprising Chapter 436 of the Laws of 1933, its supplements and amendments and also comprising N.J.S.A. 33:1-1 et seq., and in accordance with the rules and regulations of the State Director of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
[Ord. #90-4]
For the purpose of this Chapter, words and phrases herein shall have the same meanings as N.J.S.A. 33:1-1 et seq., and the rules and regulations of the Director of the Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
[1970 Code § 8-2.1]
All applications for licenses, all licenses issued, and all proceedings under this Chapter shall be in accordance with the act, rules and regulations referred to in Section 6-1, and all other applicable laws of the State of New Jersey or of the United States.
[1970 Code § 8-2.2]
All licenses required by this Chapter shall be issued by the governing body, which shall also administer the provisions of this Chapter.
[1970 Code § 8-2.3]
No person shall sell or distribute alcoholic beverages within the Borough without having obtained a license in accordance with the act referred to in Section 6-1 and the provisions of this Chapter.
[Ord. #113, § 1;1970 Code § 8-3; Ord. #89-15; Ord. #92-21]
The annual fees of licenses for the sale and distribution of alcoholic beverages in the Borough shall be as follows:
1993
1994
1995
a.
Plenary Retail Consumption License
$615
$735
$880
b.
Plenary Retail Distribution License
$480
$575
$690
c.
Limited Retail Distribution License
$95
$110
$130
[Ord. #100, § 1; Ord. #81-4, § 1; 1970 Code § 8-4.1; New; Ord. #2009-3]
No alcoholic beverages shall be sold, served, consumed or delivered in any licensed premises on any day of the week, between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m. any day except New Year's Day and Christmas Day each year as hereinafter provided.
[1]
Editor's Note: Former subsection 6-4.2, pertaining to restrictions of hours on Saturdays, previously codified herein and containing portions of 1970 Code § 8-4.3 and Ordinance Nos. 100 and 84-1, was repealed in its entirety by Ordinance No. 2009-3.
[1]
Editor's Note: Former subsection 6-4.3 pertaining to restriction of hours on Sundays, previously codified herein and containing portions of 1970 Code 38-4.4 and Ordinance Nos. 70-9 and 81-4, was repealed in its entirety by Ordinance No. 2009-3.
[Ord. #100, § 1; Ord. #81-4, § 1; 1970 Code § 8-4.2]
The provisions of subsection 6-4.1 shall not apply on January 1 and December 25. On those days no alcoholic beverages may be sold, served, consumed or delivered in the licensed premises between the hours of 5:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m.
[Ord. #81-4, § 1; 1970 Code § 8-4.6]
The hours fixed herein shall be according to prevailing time.
[1970 Code § 8-6]
No licensee or employee of the licensee shall sell, serve or deliver, directly or indirectly, any alcoholic beverages to an intoxicated person or person under the legal age, nor permit the consumption of alcoholic beverages on any licensed premises by any of the above-named persons.
[Ord. #90-4]
During the hours that the sale of alcoholic beverages are prohibited, the entire licensed premises shall be closed and no person shall be admitted or permitted to remain thereon except the licensee or bona fide employees of the licensee.
[1]
Editor's Note: Former Section 6-5 pertaining to persons under the legal age and disorderly persons, previously codified herein was repealed in its entirety by Ordinance No. 2009-3.
[1970 Code § 8-7]
Any license issued under this Chapter may be suspended or revoked for violation of any of the provisions of this Chapter, any provision of any applicable statute or any of the rules or regulations of the State Director of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
Proceedings for suspension or revocation shall be in accordance with the provisions of N.J.S.A. 33:1-31, by service of a five-day notice of charges preferred against hearing.
Suspension or revocation of a license shall be in addition to any other penalty which may be imposed for a violation of this Chapter.