Borough of Moonachie, NJ
Bergen County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
[Ord. No. BH-16-001]
An ordinance regulating and controlling the operation of public recreational bathing places and the issuance of permits to operate public recreational bathing places as defined in N.J.A.C. 8:26 et seq., which is adopted herein by reference to same, within the Borough of Moonachie is hereby established pursuant to N.J.S.A. 26:3-69.1-69.6.
[Ord. No. BH-16-001]
This Appendix D shall be known and cited by its title: "Public Recreational Bathing Ordinance." The code hereby established and adopted by this ordinance is in addition to the New Jersey Sanitary Code, Chapter 9, "Public Recreational Bathing" and is referred to in same.
[Ord. No. BH-16-001]
Three copies of this ordinance as well as the said State of New Jersey Sanitary Code, Chapter 26 have been placed on file in the office of the Secretary of this local Board of Health upon introduction of this ordinance and will remain on file until final action is taken on this ordinance for the use and examination of the public.
[Ord. No. BH-16-001]
a. 
A public recreational bathing place, as defined in N.J.A.C. 8:26 et seq., including but not limited to swimming pools or hot tub/spa, shall not be operated or open to the public until permits have been issued by the Code Enforcement pursuant to N.J.A.C. 8:26 et seq. and the Health Department of the Borough of Moonachie.
b. 
The fee for the issuance or renewal of a permit to operate a public recreational bathing place is $100, and shall be submitted with the application for the permit.
c. 
A permit issued by the Borough of Moonachie under the provisions of this ordinance shall expire annually on March 31 of each year and application for renewal thereof shall be submitted together with the required fee prior to April 1 of each year. Failure to obtain a license prior to April 1 will result in the inability of the establishment to operate subsequent to April 1. Additionally, failure to obtain a license prior to April 1 will also result in a late fee of $25.
[Ord. No. BH-16-001]
Permits required by this ordinance or code may be denied or suspended by the Health Officer for failure to comply with any of the provisions of this ordinance or of the code or any other applicable laws, ordinances or regulations. The Health Officer shall afford the person an opportunity to be heard and shall inform said person of his decision as provided by Section 2.4 of the State Code (N.J.A.C. 8:26-2.4).
[Ord. No. BH-16-001]
Any person who violates any provision of, or order promulgated under, this ordinance shall, upon conviction thereof, be liable for a penalty of not less than $100, nor more than $1,000 for each violation. Each day a particular violation continues shall constitute a separate offense.