Town of Brookfield, CT
Fairfield County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Selectmen of the Town of Brookfield as indicated in article histories. Amendments noted where applicable.]
[Adopted 8-9-2004]
The purpose of this article is to address the issue that the unregulated possession of alcoholic liquor by persons under the age of 21 years old is detrimental to the general welfare, health and safety of the residents of the Town of Brookfield, especially its youth.
As used in this article, the following terms shall have the meanings indicated:
ALCOHOLIC LIQUOR
The same meaning as the term which is defined in Title 30, Section 30-1 of The Connecticut General Statutes, as amended.
HOST
To organize a gathering of two or more persons, or to allow the premises under one's control to be used with one's knowledge for a gathering of two or more persons, for personal, business, or social interaction.
MINOR
The same meaning as the term which is defined in Title 30, Section 30-1 of The Connecticut General Statutes, as amended.
No minor shall be in possession of alcoholic liquors, whether in opened or in closed containers or otherwise, within the Town of Brookfield except when accompanied by or in the presence of his or her parent or legal guardian or spouse who has attained the age of 21 years old, and except that this provision shall not apply to 1) a person over age 18 who is an employee or permit holder under Section 30-90a and who possesses alcoholic liquor in the course of his employment or business; or 2) a minor who possesses alcoholic liquor on the order of a practicing physician. This restriction shall apply to both public and private property.
No person while in the Town of Brookfield shall host an event or gathering at which the host knowingly allows alcoholic liquor to be consumed by or dispensed to any minor unless said minor is accompanied by or is in the presence of his or her parent or legal guardian or spouse who has attained the age of 21 years old. This restriction shall apply to both public and private property.
Any person violating § 82A-3 or 82A-4 of this article shall be subject to a fine of $90 for each offense.