Egg Harbor City, NJ
Atlantic County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Common Council of the City of Egg Harbor City as indicated in article histories. Amendments noted where applicable.]
GENERAL REFERENCES
Fees and deposits — See Ch. 139.
[Adopted 11-14-1974 as Ch. 48 of the 1974 Code; amended in its entirety 6-28-1979 by Ord. No. 13-1979]
No person shall engage in or carry on any business in the City of Egg Harbor City or aid or assist, as employee, clerk or otherwise, in carrying on any such business or in using any wagon, vehicle, stand, store or other place or thing or sell or offer for sale any goods or thing for which a license is required by the terms of this article unless a license as herein provided for shall have been first obtained therefor.
[Amended 4-6-1989 by Ord. No. 6-1989]
A. 
Application for a license shall be made to the City Clerk of the City of Egg Harbor City, New Jersey, and no license shall be granted until payment for the same shall have been made in full. Every license shall specify, by name, the person, firm or corporation to whom or to which it shall be issued, the business for which granted and the location at which such business is to be carried on.
B. 
No license shall be granted under this article for any theater, scenic theater, moving-picture show, electric illusion or other exhibition or amusement until the Construction Code Official and Chief of the Fire Department certify, in writing, to the City Clerk that the applicant has complied with all the ordinances and regulations respecting protection of life and property relating to such places.
[Amended 8-26-1999 by Ord. No. 16-1999]
C. 
No license shall be granted under this article for new or change of ownership for any type of food establishment (restaurant, luncheonette, ice cream parlor, fish market, etc.) until the Plumbing Inspector and Health Department certify, in writing, that the applicant has complied with all the ordinances and regulations pertaining to the health, welfare and safety of such places.
D. 
The certificate of license shall be conspicuously displayed on the premises where the business is conducted. Licensees having no local place of business shall exhibit their license when requested to do so by officers of the Police Department.
All license fees shall be due and payable to the City Clerk at his/her office in the City of Egg Harbor City, New Jersey, on the first day of June in each year, and all such licenses shall expire on the first day of June following such payment, except that businesses commencing original operation in the City of Egg Harbor City after January 1 of any year shall be permitted to pay 1/2 of the normal license fee, and licenses issued under this subsection shall expire on the first day of June following.
[Amended 6-11-1992 by Ord. No. 6-1992; 8-26-1999 by Ord. No. 16-1999; 3-10-2005 by Ord. No. 7-2005]
The license fee to be paid annually to the City of Egg Harbor City for conducting businesses at the place designated in the license certificate issued therefor shall be as follows:
Type of Business
Fee
Appliance store, sales or service
$50
Antique store
$50
Auction store, each
$250
Auctioneers, real estate, each
$250
Automobile accessories
$50
Automobile dealers, agency or salesroom
$50
Automobile garage, repairs
$50
Art, glassware and ceramics
$50
Bakery, retail, wholesale
$50
Bicycles, mopeds, sales and service
$50
Bowling alleys
$50
Body shop and spray liners
$50
Brick, lime, concrete block or mortar
$50
Burial vaults, caskets, monuments
$50
Butter, eggs and poultry
$50
Car wash
$50
Caterer, foods
$50
Cleaning, pressing and dyeing
$50
Circus (Council reserves the right to waive fee for nonprofit organizations)
$50
Dancing schools
$50
Drugs and medical supplies
$50
Dry cleaning and/or laundry
$50
Department stores
$50
Electrical supplies and appliances
$50
Express and hauling business
$50
Fencing
$50
Firewood peddlers
$50
Five and ten cent stores, each
$50
Florists
$50
Fuel oil and distribution
$50
Furniture sales and manufacturing
$50
Garage repairs and equipment
$50
Gasoline filling stations, gas and oil only
$50
Grocery stores
$50
Hardware stores
$50
Ice cream parlors
$50
Job printing plant
$50
Jewelry stores
$50
Junk dealers, storage yard
$500
Keys, locksmith
$50
Ladies and mens apparel
$50
Landscaping and lawn maintenance
$50
Laundromat, coin-operated
$50
Lumber and millwork
$50
Milk, distributing plant or milk vehicles
$50
Moving-picture or other theater
$250
Newspaper publishers
$50
Oils, gasoline, petroleum, etc., storage, supply or service plant
$50
Paint, oils and paint supplies
$50
Peddler and solicitors, with or without baskets, packs, cases or samples, offering for sale any foods, wares, merchandise or service or the soliciting of the same, each person
$250
Photographic establishment
$50
Plumbing supplies and appliances
$50
Pool and billiard tables, each
$50
Public storage facilities
$50
Radio, television and CB stores, including supplies and service
$50
Restaurant or lunchroom
$50
Seafood business
$50
Shoe repair
$50
Shoe store
$50
Sporting and recreation facilities and clothing
$50
Sale of soft drinks, agents, selling or delivering
$50
Shuffleboard, each
$50
Stationery and stationery supplies
$50
Storage house
$50
Stores, other than those designated or classified above
$50
Storm doors, windows, mirrors and glass products
$50
Tailors
$50
Trash and refuse collectors
$50
Thrift shops
$50
Towing
$250
Used-car lots, each location
$50
A. 
No license certificate shall be issued to any person who has not complied with the laws of the State of New Jersey or the ordinances of the City of Egg Harbor City providing regulations respecting the safety of persons who may have occasion to use the premises, place or thing licensed, and, in case any person licensed fails to comply with such laws and ordinances after due notice and opportunity to be heard, the Common Council may revoke such license.
B. 
No license provided for by this article shall be transferred from one person, firm or corporation to another person, firm or corporation, and no license shall cover any other place of business than that for which it was issued.
This article shall not apply to any corporation authorized to transact business by the Department of Banking and Insurance of the State of New Jersey or to corporations authorized to transact business by any department of the Government of the United States of America or to any person licensed to transact business by the State of New Jersey, or any department, board or commission thereof, or to plumbers, builders or electricians now licensed or to persons hereafter to be licensed under ordinances of this City or to interstate commerce or to public utilities.
[Amended 8-26-1999 by Ord. No. 16-1999]
Each and every person violating any of the provisions of this article shall be subject, upon conviction thereof, to a fine not exceeding $1,000, a term of imprisonment not exceeding 90 days or a period of community service not exceeding 90 days, or any combination thereof, in the discretion of the Court. The continuation of such violation for each successive day shall constitute a separate offense, and each person continuing or allowing or permitting the continuation of a violation may be punished as provided above for each separate offense.
[Adopted 8-26-1999 by Ord. No. 16-1999]
As a condition for issuance or renewal of any license or permit issued by or requiring the approval of the City, its agents or employees, the applicant shall certify that, if he is the owner thereof, he has paid any delinquent property taxes or assessments on the property wherein the business or activity for which the license or permit is sought or wherein the business or activity is to be conducted.
When any licensee who is an owner of the licensed property or upon which the licensed business or activity is conducted has failed to pay the taxes due on that property for at least three consecutive quarters, the issuing authority for the license or permit shall give notice of revocation of that license or permit at least ten days prior to the effective date of said revocation. Upon payment of the delinquent taxes or assessment prior to the effective date, the notice to revoke the license or permit shall be dismissed. Subsequent to revocation, the former licensee must apply for renewal for the license or permit.
The licensee or holder of a permit in the City, upon receipt of a notice of revocation of that license or permit, may appeal said proposed revocation to the City Administrator who shall, within 20 days of said notice, provide a hearing for said licensee or holder of a permit. No revocation shall occur during the period prior to the hearing by the City Administrator. Subsequent to hearing of the appeal, the Administrator shall render a final decision in regard to revocation of the license or permit.
The provisions of this Article shall not apply to or include any alcoholic beverage license or permit issued pursuant to the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act, N.J.S.A. 33:1-1 et seq.