Whenever any words and phrases are used in this chapter, the meaning respectively ascribed to them in Subtitle 1 of Title 39 of the Revised Statutes of New Jersey shall be deemed to apply to such words and phrases used herein.
Whenever certain hours are named in this chapter, they shall mean either Eastern standard time or Eastern daylight saving time as may be in current use.
Any unoccupied vehicle parked or standing in violation of this chapter shall be deemed a nuisance and a menace to the safe and proper regulation of traffic, and any police officer may provide for the removal of such vehicle. In addition to the fine, court costs and assessments provided herein, the owner shall bear the reasonable costs of removal and storage which may result from such removal before regaining possession of the vehicle.
Except as herein otherwise provided and unless another penalty is expressly provided by New Jersey statute, any person who shall violate any of the provisions of this chapter or any supplement thereto, and any person who aids, abets or assists therein, shall, upon conviction in a court of competent jurisdiction, be subject to a fine not to exceed $500 for each offense or violation or by imprisonment for a term not to exceed 15 days in the county jail or in any place provided by the City for the detention of prisoners, or both, and any applicable court costs and assessments.
Any person parking a motor vehicle in a restricted parking space created for the use of physically handicapped individuals without a special vehicle identification issued by the New Jersey Division of Motor Vehicles, or other authorized agency, shall be liable for a fine of $100 for the first offense and, for subsequent offenses, a fine of a minimum of $100 and not to exceed $500 and up to 90 days' community service on such terms and in such form as the the court shall deem appropriate, or any combination thereof, and any applicable court costs and assessments.
Any person violating § 259-15 (no-passing zones) or § 259-16 (vehicle weight limits) of this chapter shall, upon conviction, pay a fine of not less than $50 nor more than $500 for a first offense and not less than $250 nor more than $1,000 for any second or subsequent offense, plus court costs and fees.