[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Health of the Borough of South River 2-4-1970; readopted 3-1-1977 (Ch. 243 of the 1977 Code). Amendments noted where applicable.]
A code regulating the location, construction, alteration, use and supervision of individual and semipublic water supplies; requiring certain permits; providing for the inspection of such supplies and the fixing of fees; and prescribing penalties for violations, is hereby adopted pursuant to Chapter 188, P.L. 1950 (N.J.S.A. 26:3-69.1 to 3-69.6). A copy of said code is annexed hereto and made a part hereof without inclusion of the text thereof herein.
The said code established and adopted by this chapter is described and commonly known as the "Individual and Semipublic Water Supply Code of New Jersey (1966)."
Three copies of the said Individual and Semipublic Water Supply Code of New Jersey (1966) have been placed on file in the office of the Secretary of this Board of Health upon the introduction of this chapter and will remain on file in said office for use and examination by the public.
No person shall locate, construct or alter any water supply until a permit for the location, construction or alteration of said water supply shall have been issued by the Board of Health.
The Board of Health may issue a permit if an application for the same is accompanied by a certificate made by an engineer licensed to practice professional engineering in New Jersey, stating that the design of the water supply as proposed is in compliance with the code.
New water supplies shall not be placed in operation, nor shall new dwellings or buildings or additions thereto be sold or occupied which must rely on such a supply for water, until the Board of Health shall have issued a certificate indicating that the said water supply has been located and constructed in compliance with the terms of the permit issued and the requirements of the aforesaid code. Issuance of such certificate shall not be required for alterations to an existing water supply.
The Board of Health may issue such a certificate if an engineer licensed to practice professional engineering in New Jersey submits a statement in writing, signed by him, to the Board of Health that the said water supply has been located and constructed in accordance with the terms of the permit and the requirements of the aforesaid code.
In case any permit or certification required by this chapter is denied by the Board of Health, a hearing shall be held thereon before the Board within 15 days after request therefor is made by the applicant, and upon such hearing the Board of Health shall affirm, alter or rescind its previous determination and take action accordingly within 15 days after the date of such hearing.
The Board of Health may order all further work in and about any water supply which is being erected or installed in violation of the code to be stopped forthwith, except such work as shall be necessary to remedy such violation, and, thereafter, the work continued without any violation of any of the provisions of the code, and after issuance of any such order and the service of a copy thereof upon any person connected with or working in and about the erection or installation of any such water supply or any part thereof, no further work shall be done thereon except as aforesaid.
[Amended 12-20-2007 by Ord. No. 2007-2]
The following fees and charges are herewith established:
For the filing of an application and plans for a permit to locate and construct a water supply: $150.
For the filing of an application and plans for a permit to alter an existing water supply: $150.
For the issuance of a permit to locate and construct or alter a water supply: $150.
For each reinspection of a water supply or part thereof caused by the failure of the permittee to locate and construct or alter the same in accordance with the terms of the aforesaid code, an inspection fee shall be charged: $150.
Any person or persons, firm or corporation violating any of the provisions of or any order promulgated under this chapter or Individual and Semipublic Water Supply Code of New Jersey (1966) made a part hereof shall, upon conviction thereof, pay a penalty of not less than $5 nor more than $500 for each violation.
Each day a particular violation continues shall constitute a separate offense.