[HISTORY: Adopted by the Common Council (now Board of Commissioners) of the City of Ventnor City 4-8-1968 by Ord. No. 4-1968. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Uniform construction codes — See Ch. 98.
No person shall engage in the heating and oil burner installation business in the City of Ventnor City unless and until he has been duly registered, licensed and qualified as hereinafter set forth.
A heating and oil burner installation business shall include the erection, installation, alteration and repair of heating systems and the installation of oil burners. Every person desiring to conduct or engage in the heating and oil burner installation business in the City of Ventnor shall first register and obtain a license in the following manner:
He shall file an application on a form to be furnished by the Board of Health with a fee of $30.
Within 30 days after the filing of such application he shall take an examination to be conducted by the Board of Heating Examiners as well as demonstrate his knowledge of the business and the statutes of the State of New Jersey and the ordinances of the City of Ventnor City pertinent to or applying to such business.
If he shall have passed said examination, then upon the execution and filing with the Heating Inspector of a bond to the City of Ventnor with sufficient sureties to be approved by the Department of Health in the sum of $1,000, conditioned upon his compliance with the statutes of the State of New Jersey and the ordinances, rules and regulations of the City of Ventnor City relating to the heating and oil burner business and the payment of a fee in the amount of $100, there shall be issued by said Board of Health a license showing that he has been registered and licensed to do heating work and oil burner installation work for the balance of the year in which such license is granted.
The Board of Health shall establish and appoint a Board of Heating Examiners which shall consist of three members, namely, the Heating Inspector, one master steamfitter and one journeyman steamfitter, who shall each serve for a term of three years. Any vacancy occurring in the membership of the Board shall be filled for the unexpired term only.
All persons or firms that are now registered with the office of the Board of Health shall not be required to take an examination to obtain a license nor shall they be required to pay the initial fee of $100 but they shall pay a fee of $10 to obtain their license.
At the expiration of each calendar year said license shall be null and void. A licensee desiring to continue in the business of heating and oil burner installation for the ensuing year shall reregister, pay a renewal license fee of $10 and obtain a license for the ensuing year; provided, however, that he shall not be required to take an examination unless he fails to reregister on or before December 31 of such ensuing year.
[Amended 6-4-1979 by Ord. No. 7904]
Before proceeding with any heating or oil burner installation work in the City of Ventnor City, plans and specifications shall be filed and receive the approval of the Heating Inspector, which approval shall be indicated by the issuance by the Heating Inspector of a permit to perform the work applied for. Said permit fees shall be based on the schedules as provided in Chapter 98, Construction Codes, Uniform.
Editor's Note: Original Sections 5, 6 and 7, as amended, which immediately followed this section and dealt with standards and specifications for oil burners, furnaces, fuel storage tanks, etc., were deleted 6-4-1979 by Ord. No. 7904.
[Amended 6-4-1979 by Ord. No. 7904; 2-2-1989 by Ord. No. 8903; 1-9-1997 by Ord. No. 9616]
In addition to any other penalty hereunder provided, any person, firm or corporation violating any of the provisions of this chapter shall, upon conviction thereof, be fined a sum not to exceed $1,000 for each and every violation or shall be imprisoned in the county jail for a period not to exceed three months, or both. In addition to or as a substitute for the previously mentioned fine, the imposition of community service shall be authorized as an additional penalty, which community service shall not exceed 90 days.