Town of Bar Harbor, ME
Hancock County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[Adopted 10-2-1990 as § 10.04 of the 1990 Code; amended 8-10-1993]
The Town Council shall appoint a committee of seven individuals familiar with the harbor and its activities, all of whom shall be Bar Harbor residents. This committee shall act in an advisory capacity to the Town Council with respect to harbor management.
The Harbor Committee shall:
Assist in the planning, development and establishment of a policy for the harbor area.
Be organized with a Chairman, Vice Chairman and Secretary and shall keep minutes, with copies of said minutes being provided to the Town Clerk.
Assist the Harbor Master in the resolution of conflicts which may arise as a result of harbor rules and regulations regarding the use of the harbor and its facilities and establish an appeals process for this purpose.
Recommend rules and regulations, including all fees, for use of the harbor.
Recommend individuals to the Town Council for the position of Harbor Master.
Review the activities of the Harbor Master.
Review the Harbor Master's assignments of mooring locations.
Provide an annual report and other reports as requested to the Town Council and Town Manager.
Review and assist in budget planning as it relates to the Harbor Division.
Each member shall be appointed for a three-year term, except that the persons initially appointed to the seats created in 1993 shall be appointed to terms of one year.
[Amended 10-6-2009 by Ord. No. 2009-04]
The Committee shall meet a minimum of four times a year, one of which shall be for organizational purposes. Except when otherwise provided by vote of the Committee, all meetings shall be conducted by Robert's Rules of Order.
The Committee's decision shall be made by vote of a majority of the members present and voting, provided a quorum is present.
A majority of the members appointed and serving on the Committee shall constitute a quorum.