Town of Bar Harbor, ME
Hancock County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[Adopted 10-2-1990 as § 12.01 of the 1990 Code; amended 9-5-1995; 10-5-1999; 8-15-2000]
[Amended 12-16-2003 by Ord. No. 2003-4; 8-5-2014 by Ord. No. 2014-02]
The Town Council shall appoint a committee of five individuals, including one representative from the YMCA, and one of whom may be a Town Councilor, who are familiar with the Town’s parks and related recreational activities. All members shall be Bar Harbor residents, except the YMCA representative, who may or may not be a resident.
The Parks and Recreation Committee shall:
Act in an advisory capacity to the Town Council and Town Manager in all matters relating to the development and management of the Town's parks and recreational facilities.
Each July, elect a Chairman, Vice Chairman and Secretary, none of whom shall be a Town Councilor, and shall keep minutes, with copies of said minutes being provided to the Town Clerk.
[Amended 12-16-2003 by Ord. No. 2003-4]
Provide an annual report and other reports as requested to the Town Council and Town Manager.
Make recommendations for the use, maintenance, improvement and development of Glen Mary Park, Park Street Playground, Athletic Field, Grant Park, the Village Green, Agamont Park and the Town Beach and such other recreational facilities and areas as the Town may acquire.
Approve applications for special event permits, as provided by § 144-25.
[Added 3-4-2003 by Ord. No. 2003-1]
Each member shall be appointed for a three-year term. All terms shall expire in June.
The Committee shall meet every month unless the Committee agrees to meet more frequently. Except when otherwise provided by vote of the Committee, all meetings shall be conducted by Robert's Rules of Order.
The Committee's decision shall be made by a vote of a majority of the members present and voting provided a quorum is present. A majority of the members appointed and serving on the Committee shall constitute a quorum.