Town of East Hampton, CT
Middlesex County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Selectmen of the Town of East Hampton 11-26-1985 (Ord. No. 8.03). Amendments noted where applicable.]
Pursuant to § 50-9 of the Connecticut General Statutes, this chapter covers the provisions of §§ 50-10 through 50-14 of the Connecticut General Statutes with respect to lost, found and unclaimed property and provides for the expedient disposition of said property within said Town of East Hampton.
Any person who finds and takes possession of any article of the value of $1 or more shall report the finding of such article to the East Hampton Police Department within 48 hours from the time of such finding. The finder of such article shall, at the time of reporting, furnish to the East Hampton Police Department the date, time and place of finding, his name and address and a description of the article found and, within a period of one week from such finding, shall deliver such article to the East Hampton Police Department. Any person who violates or fails to comply with the provisions of this section shall be fined not more than $100 or imprisoned not more than 30 days, or both.
The East Hampton Police Department shall, commencing within one week from the date of receipt of any lost article, advertise a general description of such article once a week for at least two successive weeks in a newspaper having a circulation in the Town of East Hampton and shall retain custody of such article for six months from the date of receipt thereof, unless it is claimed by the rightful owner within such six-month period. The requirement of advertising may be omitted when the value or estimated value of the article is less than $2. Perishable or obnoxious property or articles of a dangerous or harmful nature may be sold or otherwise disposed of as soon as practicable on the best terms available.
If the owner of any such article claims it within six months from the date of receipt by the East Hampton Police Department, the article or the proceeds thereof shall be restored to him upon payment or deduction of all proper charges.
If no owner claims such article within six months from the receipt thereof by the East Hampton Police Department, the Police Department shall, within two weeks thereafter, notify the finder of such fact by registered or certified mail sent to his last known address, and the article or the proceeds thereof shall be turned over to the finder, upon demand by him within 30 days from the expiration of the six-month period and upon payment or deduction of all proper charges; but if such finder fails to demand such article or the proceeds thereof or refuses to pay such charges within 30 days from the expiration of the six-month period, such article or proceeds shall belong to such municipality. The requirement of notification may be omitted when the value or estimated value of the article is less than $5.
The East Hampton Police Department shall sell at public auction any articles which it acquires as provided herein after the expiration of the time for the owner or finder to demand the same and after the time and place of such sale and a description of the articles to be sold have been advertised once a week for two successive weeks in a newspaper having a circulation in such municipality. The net proceeds from such sales and the unclaimed net proceeds from the sales of perishable or obnoxious property or articles of a dangerous or harmful nature shall be paid to the Director of Finance of the Town of East Hampton, who shall deposit them in the general fund.
[1]
Editor's Note: Amended at time of adoption of Code (see Ch. 1, General Provisions, Art. I).