Town of New Canaan, CT
Fairfield County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted New Canaan Town Council: Article I, 1-14-81, effective 5-15-81. Amendments noted where applicable.]
[Adopted 1-14-81, effective 5-15-81]
There shall be a panel of three alternate members of the Planning and Zoning Commission, who shall be electors of the Town of New Canaan, shall serve without compensation and shall hold no other office of trust or emolument in the town government. The Selectmen shall forthwith appoint the three alternate members of the panel, who shall hold office until December 1, 1981. In the odd-numbered years, commencing on or after December 1, 1981, the Selectmen shall appoint the three members of the panel, who, after qualification, shall hold office for a term of two years from the first day of December in the odd-numbered years and until their successors have been appointed and shall have qualified.
The alternate members of the Planning and Zoning Commission, when seated, as provided in § 40-3, shall have all the powers and duties of regular members of the Planning and Zoning Commission as set forth in Article XIII of the Charter.
In the event of the absence of a regular member from a meeting of the Planning and Zoning Commission or if a regular member shall disqualify himself or be disqualified under the provisions of the General Statutes relating to a disqualification of members of planning and zoning authorities or as otherwise provided by law, the Chairman shall designate and seat an alternate from the panel of alternates, but in designating and seating such alternate, he shall choose alternates in rotation so that the alternates chosen by the Chairman shall be seated as nearly an equal number of times as is possible.