City of Taneytown, MD
Carroll County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Mayor and Council of the City of Taneytown 1-14-1980 by Ord. No. 5-79 as Title 8, Chapter 1 of the 1980 Code. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Subdivision of land — See Ch. 180.
Zoning — See Ch. 205.
There is hereby created a Planning Commission of the City of Taneytown, hereinafter referred to as the "Commission." Its territorial jurisdiction shall extend throughout the corporate limits of the City of Taneytown.
There shall be five members of the Commission, each to serve for a period of five-year staggered terms of office, on the same basis now in effect for appointment, and until his or her successor takes office, one of whom shall be a member of the Council.
All members shall be eligible for reappointment.
[Amended 8-9-1999 by Ord. No. 8-99; 12-13-1999 by Ord. No. 9-99]
There shall be an alternate member of the Commission appointed pursuant to the terms of this chapter. This alternate member shall be empowered to sit on the Commission in the absence of any member of the Commission. The alternate member shall serve a period of five years and shall be treated in all other respects as a member of the Commission.
[Added 11-9-2009 by Ord. No. 09-2009]
The members of the Commission shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to approval by the Council.
Any permanent vacancy on the Commission for any reason shall be filled only for the unexpired portion of the term in question. Vacancy appointments, as with initial appointments, shall be made by the Mayor subject to approval by the Council.
[Amended 8-9-1999 by Ord. No. 8-99; 12-13-1999 by Ord. No. 9-99]
All members of the Commission shall receive such compensation as fixed from time to time by resolution of the Council.[1]
Editor's Note: Original Secs. 8-1-6, Officers, 8-1-7, Staff and finances, and 8-1-8, Powers, which immediately followed this section, were deleted 8-9-1999 by Ord. No. 8-99 and 12-13-1999 by Ord. No. 9-99.