[HISTORY: Adopted by the Town Council of the Town of Johnston 1-19-1993 by Ord. No. 886 (Secs. 28-1 to 28-8 of the 1979 Code). Amendments noted where applicable.]
As used in this chapter, the following terms shall have the meanings indicated:
- Any person, firm or corporation, duly licensed by the Department of Environmental Management, Division of Forest Environment, who makes a business or practice of pruning, trimming, spraying or repairing fruit, shade or ornamental trees and shall include such lines of work as are commonly included under the terms "tree spraying," "tree pruning" and the work of foresters and entomologists as applied to the care of fruit, shade, forest and ornamental trees and shrubs.
The Mayor of the Town shall appoint a Tree Warden. The Tree Warden shall be responsible for the enforcement of all rules and regulations of this chapter as well as the enforcement of the appropriate state regulations where applicable.
[Amended 6-10-2019 by Ord. No. 2019-7]
An arborist shall be required to obtain a permit from the office of the Tree Warden, Director of Public Works or Assistant Director of Public Works prior to performing any tree work within the boundaries of the Town of Johnston.
The fee for a permit shall be set at $15 per day per truck with crew, payable to the Town.
All arborists applying for a permit must be licensed by the State of Rhode Island or by a state with reciprocity with the State of Rhode Island.
All arborists are required to show a certificate of insurance to the Tree Warden prior to the permit being issued. Such certificate must show proof of liability and workers' compensation insurance. This certificate must be presented to the Tree Warden on an annual basis and at other times when requested by the Tree Warden to verify the insurance coverage.
All tree work performed within the Town shall be done under the supervision of the Tree Warden and the direction of the Tree Warden.
Any person, firm or corporation who violates any provisions of this chapter shall be punished by a fine of not more than $100 per offense.