## BOROUGH OF NEW PROVIDENCE ORDINANCE 2009-8

"AN ORDINANCE AMENDING AND SUPPLEMENTING CHAPTER 79 OF THE CODE OF THE BOROUGH OF NEW PROVIDENCE ENTITLED "POLICE DEPARTMENT""

BE IT ORDAINED by the Mayor and Borough Council of the Borough of New Providence, County of Union and State of New Jersey as follows:

SECTION 1. Section §79-2 of Article I of the Code of the Borough of New Providence entitled "Organization; appointments; promotions" is amended as follows:

79-2 The Police Department, hereinafter referred to as the "Department," shall consist of the following:

- 1. One Chief of Police
- 2. One Deputy Chief of Police
- 3. One Police Captain
- 4. No more than five (5) Police Sergeants
- 5. No more than seventeen (17) Patrolmen

SECTION 3. This ordinance shall take effect as provided by law.

Introduced:	June 8, 2009
Public Hearing:	June 22, 2009
Adopted:	June 22 2009

BOROUGH OF NEW PROVIDENCE COUNTY OF UNION STATE OF NEW JERSEY

Attest:	John A. Thoms, Mayor
Wendi B. Barry, Borough Clerk	