Town of Monroe, NY
Orange County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
The officers of the Board shall consist of a Chairman, Acting Chairman, Secretary and Attorney.
The Chairman shall be designated by the Town Board. He shall perform all the duties required by law, ordinance and these rules. He shall preside at all the meetings of the Board. The Chairman may appoint any committees necessary to carry out the business of the Board. The Chairman may administer oaths and compel the attendance of any witness necessary to carry out the business of the Board. The Chairman's signature shall be the official signature of the Board.
The Acting Chairman shall be appointed by the Town Board to serve in the absence of the Chairman. He shall have all the powers of the Chairman during his absence, disability or disqualification.
The Secretary shall be appointed by the Board. He shall not be a member of the Board. The Secretary shall keep the minutes of all Board meetings and proceedings, keep a record of those members of the Board present and record the vote of each member, and shall keep verbatim minutes of all Board examinations of any witness appearing before it.
The Attorney for the Board shall be the Attorney employed by the Town Board of the Town of Monroe in accordance with the Town Law. The Attorney shall render such professional services and advice as the Board may require. In the event that the Attorney shall disqualify himself in any proceeding before the Board because of a conflict of interest or otherwise, the Chairman may, in the discretion of the Board, so report to the Town Board and request the services of another attorney to render services and advice in such proceedings.