City of Northfield, NJ
Atlantic County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Council of the City of Northfield 12-20-1976 by Ord. No. 10-76; amended in its entirety 3-2-2004 by Ord. No. 1-2004 (Ch. 60 of the 1974 Code). Subsequent amendments noted where applicable.]
GENERAL REFERENCES
Unfit buildings — See Ch. 109.
Fire prevention — See Ch. 171.

§ 128-1 Enforcing agency established.

A. 
There is hereby established in the City of Northfield a State Uniform Construction Code enforcing agency to be known as the "Building Department," consisting of a Construction Official, Building Subcode Official, Plumbing Subcode Official, Electrical Subcode Official, Fire Protection Subcode Official and such additional subcodes as the Commissioner of the Department of Community Affairs, State of New Jersey, shall hereafter adopt as part of the State Uniform Construction Code. The Construction Official shall be the chief administrator of the enforcing agency.
B. 
Each official position created in Subsection A hereof shall be filled by a person qualified for such position pursuant to P.L. 1975, c. 217,[1] as amended, and N.J.A.C. 5:23, provided that, in lieu of any particular subcode official, an on-site inspection agency may be retained by contract pursuant to N.J.A.C. 5:23. More than one such official position may be held by the same person, provided that such person is qualified pursuant to P.L. 1975, c. 217, and N.J.A.C. 5:23 to hold each such position.
[1]
Editor's Note: See the State Uniform Construction Code Act, N.J.S.A. 52:27D-119 et seq.
C. 
The public shall have the right to do business with the Building Department, at the Municipal Building, 1600 Shore Road, Northfield, New Jersey, except for emergencies and unforeseen or unavoidable circumstances.

§ 128-2 Fees.

A. 
Plan review fees.
(1) 
The fee for plan review shall be 20% of the construction permit fee.
(2) 
The amount of the plan review fee shall be deducted from the amount of the fee due for a construction permit, when the construction permit fee is paid and the permit is issued.
(3) 
Plan review fees are not refundable.
(4) 
For projects which do not require plan review for all subcodes, the fee shall be the appropriate percentage of the subcode fee which is applicable.
B. 
Construction permit fee.
[Amended 4-22-2008 by Ord. No. 2-2008]
(1) 
The building subcode fees shall be:
(a) 
For new construction:
[1] 
Per cubic foot of building or structure volume (volume to be computed in accordance with N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.28): $0.038 with a minimum fee of $100, xcept as otherwise provided in Subsection B(1)(a)[2] or [3] immediately below.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013; 5-26-2015 by Ord. No. 14-2015]
[2] 
Per cubic foot of building or structure volume (volume to be computed in accordance with N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.28), for Use Groups A-1, A-2, A-3, A-4, A-5, F-1, F-2, S-1 and S-2 of Article 3 of the International Building Code, New Jersey Edition: $0.021.
[Amended 5-26-2015 by Ord. No. 14-2015]
[3] 
Per cubic foot of building or structure volume (volume to be computed in accordance with N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.28), for structures on farms, including commercial farm buildings used exclusively for the storage of food, grain and livestock, with the maximum fee for such construction on the farms not to exceed $1,602: $0.0011.
[Amended 5-26-2015 by Ord. No. 14-2015]
(b) 
For renovations, alterations and repairs:
[1] 
For the first $50,000 of estimated cost of work, the fee shall be $34 per $1,000 of estimated cost or fraction thereof of the work, provided that the minimum fee shall be $55.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013; 5-26-2015 by Ord. No. 14-2015]
[2] 
From $50,001 to and including $100,000, an additional fee in the amount of $26 per $1,000 of estimated cost or a fraction thereof the work.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013; 5-26-2015 by Ord. No. 14-2015]
[3] 
From $100,001 estimated cost, an additional fee of $22 per each $1,000 of estimated cost of fraction thereof of the work greater than $100,001 estimated cost.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013; 5-26-2015 by Ord. No. 14-2015]
[4] 
For the purpose of determining estimated costs, the applicant shall submit to the Building Department such data as may be available, produced by the architect or engineer of record, or by a recognized estimating firm, or by the contractor. A bona fide contractor's bid, if available, shall be submitted. The Construction Official shall make the final decision regarding estimated cost.
(c) 
For additions: The fees for additions shall be computed on the same basis as for new construction as set forth in Subsection B(1)(a) above.
(d) 
Swimming pools, oil tanks, towers, etc.: Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 5:23-4.18(c)(1)(vi), the following flat fees are hereby established:
[1] 
Residential (Use Groups R3 and R5):
[a] 
Aboveground swimming pool: $75.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013]
[b] 
In-ground swimming pool: $180.
[c] 
Oil tank: $75.
[d] 
Tower or dish: $45.
[e] 
Fence: $50.
[f] 
Swimming pool heater: $25.
[g] 
Solar panel array: $250.
[Added 10-17-2017 by Ord. No. 14-2017]
[2] 
Commercial (other than Use Groups R3 and R5):
[a] 
Oil tank: $180.
[b] 
Tower or dish: $175.
[c] 
Fence: $130.
[d] 
Solar panel array: $300.
[Added 10-17-2017 by Ord. No. 14-2017]
(e) 
Combination renovations and additions shall be computed as the sum of the fees computed separately, in accordance with the Subsection B(1)(b) and (c).
(f) 
Premanufactured construction: for work performed at the site, including but not limited to foundation systems, structural installations and external utility connections, $34 per $1,000 of estimated cost or a fraction thereof, provided that the minimum fee shall be $55.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013; 5-26-2015 by Ord. No. 14-2015]
(g) 
Minor construction work: $34 per $1,000 estimated cost of work or a fraction thereof, provided that the minimum fee shall be $55.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013; 5-26-2015 by Ord. No. 14-2015]
(h) 
Asbestos removal: $80 for each construction project or such fee as otherwise established by the state or any subdivision or agency thereof.
(i) 
Dumpster fees: $15 per dumpster.
(j) 
Construction trailers on site: $20 per month per trailer.
(2) 
The plumbing subcode fees shall be:
(a) 
For commercial dishwashers: $55 per fixture.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013]
(b) 
Plumbing fixtures and stacks: $20 per fixture connected to the plumbing system for all fixtures and appliances, except as listed in Subsection B(2)(c) below. The minimum fee shall be $55.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013]
(c) 
The fee shall be $85 per special device for the following: grease traps, oil separators, water-cooled air-conditioning units, refrigeration units, utility service connections, backflow preventers equipped with test ports (double check valve assembly, reduced pressure zone and pressure vacuum breaker backflow preventers), steam boilers, hot water boilers (excluding those for domestic water heating), gas piping, active solar systems, sewer pumps and interceptors. There shall be no inspection fee charged for gas service entrances.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013]
(d) 
Air-conditioning condensate drain: $15.
(e) 
Lawn sprinkler backflow preventer: $55.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013]
(f) 
Replacement of like mechanical equipment in residential buildings R-3, R-4, and R-5: the fee shall be $55 each, all as defined by the International Building Code, as amended.
[Added 5-26-2015 by Ord. No. 14-2015]
(3) 
The electrical subcode fees shall be:
(a) 
For from one to 50 convenience receptacles, fixtures, detectors, communication points, alarm devices or motors under one horsepower, the fee shall be in the amount of $55; and for each additional 25 receptacles, fixtures, detectors, communication points, alarm devices, or motors under one horsepower, the fee shall be in the amount of $15. The minimum fee shall be $55. For the purpose of computing this fee, receptacles or fixtures shall include lighting outlets, wall switches, fluorescent fixtures, convenience receptacles or similar fixtures and motors or devices of less than one horsepower or one kilowatt or less.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013]
(b) 
For each motor or electrical device greater than 100 horsepower; for transformers and generators greater than 100 kilowatts; for each service greater than 1,000 amperes, and for each motor control center, subpanel greater than 1,000 amperes, the fee shall be $576.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013]
(c) 
For each motor or electrical device greater than 10 horsepower and less than or equal to 50 horsepower; for each pool bonding, for each electrical device, transformer, generator greater than 10 kilowatts and less than or equal to 50 kilowatts; for each service entrance greater than one ampere and less than or equal to 225 amperes, for each motor control center, subpanel greater than one ampere and less than or equal to 225 amperes, for each air-conditioning unit equal to or greater than five tons; telephone data panel, temporary pole, the fee shall be $55.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013]
(d) 
For each motor or electrical device greater than 50 horsepower and less than or equal to 100 horsepower; for each transformer and generator greater than 50 kilowatts and less than or equal to 100 kilowatts: for each service entrance greater than 225 amperes and less than or equal to 1,000 amperes, and for each motor control center, subpanel greater than 225 amperes and less than or equal to 1,000 amperes, the fee shall be $116.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013]
(e) 
For each air-conditioning unit under five tons; for each range, oven, surface unit, dishwasher, garbage disposal, clothes dryer, whirlpool/spa, pool light, water heater, baseboard heat, heater, air handler under 10 kilowatts, for each sign and light standard; for each motor, transformer or electrical equipment from one to 10 horsepower or one to 10 kilowatts, the fee shall be $15. The minimum fee shall be $55.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013]
(f) 
For the purpose of computing these fees, all motors except those in plug-in appliances shall be counted, including control equipment, generators, transformers and all heating, cooking or other devices consuming or generating electrical current.
(g) 
Lawn sprinkler, rain sensor: $25.
(4) 
The fire protection subcode and other hazardous equipment fee shall be:
(a) 
Fire-protection and other hazardous equipment: sprinklers, standpipes, detectors (smoke and heat), pre-engineered suppression systems, gas- and oil-fired appliances not connected to the plumbing system, kitchen exhaust systems, incinerators and crematoriums.
[1] 
The fee for 20 or fewer heads/heat detectors shall be $55 for residential structures and $82 for all other purposes; for 21 to and including 100 heads or detectors, the fee shall be $151; for 101 to and including 200 heads or detectors, the fee shall be $289; for 201 to and including 400 heads or detectors, the fee shall be $748; for 401 to and including 1,000 heads or detectors, the fee shall be $1,036. In computing fees for heads and detectors, the number of each shall be counted separately, and two fees, one for heads and one for detectors, shall be charged.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013]
[2] 
The fee for each standpipe shall be $225.
[3] 
The fee for each independent pre-engineered system shall be $100.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013]
[4] 
The fee for each gas- or oil-fired appliance which is not connected to the plumbing system shall be $85. The fee for the installation of a flue liner in conjunction with the installation of a gas- or oil-fired appliance shall be $30; all others, $55.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013]
[5] 
The fee for each kitchen exhaust system will be $65.
[6] 
The fee for each incinerator or crematory shall be $275.
[7] 
The fee for fire alarm systems shall be $55 minimum, $28 per $1,000 for cost of work or a fraction thereof, provided that the cost of work exceeds $2,000.
(5) 
Demolition fees. For demolition of a building or structure less than or equal to 5,000 square feet in area and less than 30 feet in height, the fee shall be $150 for R-3 and R-5 structures. For all other buildings or structures, the fee shall be $200.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013]
(6) 
Relocation of building/structure: The fee for a permit for the relocation of a building or structure from one lot to another or to a new location on the same lot shall be $150 for structures of less than 5,000 square feet in area and less than 30 feet in height. For all other buildings or structures, the fee shall be $200.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013]
(7) 
Sign permit fee: The fee for a permit to construct a sign shall be $5 per square foot of the surface area of the sign, provided that the minimum fee shall be $55. The fee shall be computed on one side only for double-faced signs.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013]
(8) 
The fee for a certificate of occupancy shall be $75 for new buildings and additions and an additional $55 for any reinspections that may be needed. Where a certificate of occupancy is granted pursuant to a change of use or under similar condition, the fee shall be $150. Where multiple certificates of occupancy are granted (for example, in a shopping center), the fee shall be $75 for each certificate issued. The fee for a certificate of continued occupancy, where applicable, shall be $100. The fee for a temporary certificate of occupancy shall be $75. The fee for a certificate of occupancy letter shall be $25. The fee for unit-rate multiple-occupancy groups shall be $75 each, and structures of different sizes shall be $75.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013]
(9) 
The fee for a certificate of occupancy required by Chapter 275, Rental Unit Registration, shall be $65; provided that the inspection is scheduled more than 10 days prior to the sale, rent, transfer, grant, lease, let, or mortgage with right of occupancy. All other certificates of occupancy required by Chapter 275, Rental Unit Registration, shall be $75. Reinspection fees are $25.
(10) 
The fee for reinspection of any subcode shall be $55.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013]
C. 
Report of Construction Official. The Construction Official shall, with the advice of all subcode officials of the City of Northfield, prepare and submit to the City Council of the City of Northfield, once every two years, a report indicating his recommendations for a fee schedule based on the operating expenses of the Building Department and any other expenses of the municipality fairly attributable to the enforcement of the State Uniform Construction Code Act. The report shall be structured in accordance with such guidelines as shall be issued from time to time by the Commissioner of the Department of Community Affairs so as to accurately portray true enforcing agency expenses in general and for structures of different use groups. This report shall then serve as a basis for this chapter to be enacted by the municipality, establishing such revisions to the fee schedule as it may deem appropriate and necessary.
D. 
New Jersey state permit surcharge fees (formerly training fees). In order to provide for the training and certification and technical support programs required by the Act, an enforcing agency, including the Department when acting as the local agency, shall collect a surcharge fee to be based upon the volume of new construction within the municipality. Said fee shall be accounted for and forwarded to the Bureau of Regulatory Affairs in the manner herein provided.
(1) 
Volume shall be computed in accordance with N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.28.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013]
(2) 
Remitting and reporting. The municipality shall remit fees to the Bureau on a quarterly basis, in conjunction with Report No. R-840B, State Training Fee Report, in accordance with N.J.A.C. 5:23-4.5(e). Fees remitted shall be per quarter. Checks shall be made payable to "Treasurer, State of New Jersey."
E. 
Notwithstanding the provisions of this section and of the State Uniform Construction Code Act, P.L.1975, c. 217 (N.J.S.A. 52:27D-119 et seq.), or any rules, regulations or standards adopted pursuant thereto, to the contrary, no person shall be charged a construction permit surcharge fee or enforcing agency fee for any construction, reconstruction, alteration or improvement designed and undertaken solely to promote accessibility by disabled persons to an existing public or private structure or any of the facilities contained therein. Further, a disabled person, or a parent or sibling of a disabled person, shall not be required to pay any municipal fee or charge in order to secure a construction permit for any construction, reconstruction, alteration or improvement which promotes accessibility to his own living unit. For the purposes of this section, “disabled person” and “blindness” shall be as defined by N.J.S.A. 52:27D-126e, as subsequently amended.
[Added 10-8-2013 by Ord. No. 11-2013]

§ 128-3 Annual permits, periodic inspections and variations.

A. 
Annual permits. The fee to be charged for an annual construction permit shall be charged annually. This fee shall be a flat fee based upon the number of maintenance workers who are employed by the facility and who are primarily engaged in work that is governed by a subcode. Managers, engineers and clericals shall not considered maintenance workers for the purpose of establishing the annual construction permit fee. Annual permits may be issued for building/fire protection, electrical and plumbing. The fee shall be in accordance with N.J.A.C. 5:23-4.20(c)5.
[Amended 5-28-2013 by Ord. No. 4-2013]
B. 
Periodic inspections and variations.
(1) 
For cross-connections and backflow preventers that are subject to testing, requiring reinspection every three months, the fee shall be $35 for each device when they are tested (thrice annually), and $100 for each device when they are broken down and tested (once annually).
(2) 
Variations, N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.10. The fee shall be $423 for Class I structures and $85 for Class II and Class III structures. The fee for the resubmitting of an application for a variation shall be $175 for Class I structures and $50 for Class II and Class III structures.
[Amended 4-22-2008 by Ord. No. 2-2008]
(3) 
On-site agency. See N.J.A.C. 5:23-4.20.
(4) 
For annual electrical inspections of swimming pools, spas and hot tubs not associated with one- or two-family dwellings, the fee shall be $65.
[Amended 4-22-2008 by Ord. No. 2-2008]

§ 128-4 Appeals.

[Added 12-16-2008 by Ord. No. 16-2008]
All appeals from decisions made by the Building Department shall be referred to and heard by the Atlantic County Construction Board of Appeals.