[HISTORY: Adopted by the Township Committee of the Township of Kingwood 7-23-1965. Amendments noted where applicable.]
For the purpose of this chapter, certain terms and words are hereby described as follows:
- Incapable of being legally driven or moved under its own
power on the public highways of the State of New Jersey.[Amended 8-4-2009 by Ord. No. 15-06-2009]
- MOTOR VEHICLE
- Every device in, upon or by which a person or property might, if such device were in operable condition, be transported upon a highway, excepting devices moved by animal power.
- Capable of being legally driven or moved on the public highways
of the State of New Jersey.[Amended 8-4-2009 by Ord. No. 15-06-2009]
- Not currently insured as required by the laws of the State
of New Jersey.[Added 8-4-2009 by Ord. No. 15-06-2009]
- Not currently licensed to be driven or moved on the public highways by the proper licensing authority, or not bearing current registration plates or tags lawfully issued by such authority for the motor vehicle involved.
[Amended 8-4-2009 by Ord. No. 15-06-2009]
No person shall leave any inoperable, unlicensed, unregistered or uninsured motor vehicle or any part thereof on any public road or other public lands or premises, except in case of an emergency, and then for a period of no more than 48 hours.
[Amended 12-20-1999 by Ord. No. 10-18-99; 8-4-2009 by Ord. No. 15-06-2009]
At no time shall any person, including the owner or occupier of any lands or premises, leave or maintain in excess of two inoperable, unlicensed, unregistered, or uninsured motor vehicles or part(s) thereof on any lands or premises. For up to two such vehicles, no person, including the owner or occupier of any lands or premises, shall leave or maintain such inoperable, unlicensed, unregistered, or uninsured motor vehicle(s) or part(s) thereof on any private lands or premises for more than 90 days, whether consecutive or not, unless such vehicle(s) is located within a fully enclosed structure or unless the owner or occupier is a licensed junkyard, except that no more than two vehicles that are eligible for registration as historic motor vehicles as that term is defined in N.J.S.A. 39:3-27.3, or are eligible to be designated as collector vehicles as that term is defined in N.J.A.C. 13:20-43.1, are exempt from the provisions of this chapter.
This chapter shall not apply to motor vehicles or parts thereof located in garages or other buildings, nor to operable but unlicensed motor vehicles displayed for sale on premises of a licensed new or used car dealer, nor inoperable or unlicensed motor vehicles or parts thereof located on the lands of any duly licensed junkyard.
[Amended 3-16-1979 by Ord. No. 4-7-79]
Any person who shall violate any provisions of this chapter shall, upon conviction thereof, be liable to a fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for a term of not more than 90 days, or both, in the discretion of the Judge.