Town of Tuxedo, NY
Orange County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Town Board of the Town of Tuxedo 5-6-1950. Amendments noted where applicable.]
GENERAL REFERENCES
Regulation of vehicles and traffic generally — See Ch. 95.
The pursuance or exercise, without a franchise or license, of the occupation, trade or business of operating a taxicab or other motor vehicle or line of taxicabs or other motor vehicles within the Town of Tuxedo, in the County of Orange, State of New York, for the transportation for hire of persons from points within the town, upon the highways and streets of the town, is hereby prohibited.
[Amended 10-10-1979 by L.L. No. 8-1979]
The license fee for any such occupation, trade or business shall be as provided in the Standard Schedule of Fees of the Town of Tuxedo, which fee shall be paid to the Town Clerk prior to the issuance of any license.[1]
[1]
Editor's Note: See Ch. 48, Fees.
Every applicant for such a license shall file with the Town Clerk an application, in the form to be determined by the Town Board, upon which the applicant or duly authorized representative of the applicant shall give such information, under oath, as the form of such application shall require, including but not limited to the type and number of vehicles which the applicant proposes to operate and the financial responsibility of and liability insurance to be carried by the applicant. Licenses to be issued shall be in the form to be prescribed by the Town Board, and a record thereof shall be kept by the Town Clerk.
Every holder of such a license shall keep the same exhibited in the place of business of such license holder at all times while engaged in the business so licensed.
A license may be refused if the applicant thereof is unfit or undesirable to carry on or incapable of properly conducting such occupation, trade or business, and a license once issued may be revoked for similar causes so determined by the Town Board.
[Amended 10-10-1979 by L.L. No. 7-1979]
Any person committing an offense against any provision of this chapter shall, upon conviction, be guilty of a violation pursuant to the Penal Law of the State of New York, punishable by a fine not exceeding $250 or by imprisonment for not exceeding 15 days, or by both such fine and imprisonment. The continuation of an offense shall constitute, for each day the offense is continued, a separate and distinct violation.