Township of Little Egg Harbor, NJ
Ocean County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Township Committee of the Township of Little Egg Harbor 5-10-2007 by Ord. No. 2007-08. Amendments noted where applicable.]
GENERAL REFERENCES
Unfit buildings — See Ch. 148.
Certificates of occupancy — See Ch. 156.
Fire prevention — See Ch. 179.
Flood hazard areas — See Ch. 185.
Property maintenance — See Ch. 273.
The regulations for the New Jersey Uniform Construction Code as promulgated by the Commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Community Affairs, pursuant to the authority of the State Uniform Construction Code Act (P.L. 1975, c. 217, as amended),[1] together with any subsequent amendments, changes or supplements thereto, is hereby adopted in and for the Township of Little Egg Harbor.
[1]
Editor's Note: See N.J.S.A. 52:27D-119 et seq.
There is hereby established in the Township of Little Egg Harbor a State Uniform Construction Code enforcing agency to be known as the "Little Egg Harbor Township Building Department." The Construction Official shall be the chief administrator of the Building Department, and the Building Subcode Official shall administer the building subcode. The Little Egg Harbor Township Building Department is hereby designated as the Electrical Subcode Official and the Plumbing Subcode Official for the purpose of administering the electrical and plumbing subcodes.
Any appeals from decisions of the enforcing agency shall be heard by the Construction Board of Appeals of Ocean County.
[Amended 4-9-2009 by Ord. No. 2009-07; 3-10-2011 by Ord. No. 3022-01; 6-14-2018 by Ord. No. 2018-10]
A. 
The following fee schedule is hereby adopted and established for the following construction and subcode fees:
(1) 
Building subcode fees. The minimum fee for any permit issued under this section shall be $60.
(a) 
New construction. Fees for new construction shall be based upon the volume of the structure. Volume shall be computed in accordance with N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.28. Use groups and types of construction are as classified and defined in Articles 3 and 6 of the building subcode.
[1] 
New construction shall be 0.040 per cubic foot of volume for all Use groups, except Use groups A-1, A-2, A-3, A-4, A-5, F-1, F-2, S-1 and S-2, which shall be 0.030 per cubic foot of volume.
[2] 
Structures on farms, including commercial farm buildings under N.J.A.C. 5:23-3.2(d) shall be 0.011 per cubic foot of volume, with the maximum fee for such structures on farms not to exceed $1,602.
(b) 
The fees for renovations, alterations, reroofing, repairs, and site construction associated with premanufactured construction, and the external utility connections for premanufactured construction shall be based on estimated cost of the work. To determine estimated cost, the applicant shall submit to the Construction Official such cost data as may be available produced by the homeowner, the architect or engineer of record, or by a recognized estimating firm, or by the contractor. A bona fide contractor's bid, if available, shall be submitted. The Construction Official shall make the final decision regarding estimated cost.
Estimated Cost of Work
Fee
$1 to $50,000
$35 per $1,000
$50,001 to $100,000
Add $26 per $1,000
Over $100,000
Add $22 per $1,000
(c) 
Additions. Fees shall be computed on the same basis as for new construction for the added portion.
(d) 
Combination renovations and additions. Fees shall be computed separately in accordance with §§ 159-4A(1)(a) and 159-4A(1)(b).
(e) 
Temporary structures. The fee for temporary structures, towers, fences greater than six feet in height, open decks not attached to a principal or accessory structure and similar structures for which volume cannot be computed shall be $60.
(f) 
Decks.
[1] 
The fee for 200 square feet or less shall be $100.
[2] 
The fee for 201 square feet or greater shall be $100 plus $2 per additional square foot.
(g) 
Construction trailers. The fee shall be $100.
(h) 
Pools and hot tubs.
[1] 
Use group R-5:
Aboveground: $100.
In-ground: $200.
[2] 
All other use groups: $300.
(i) 
Siding.
[1] 
Use group R-3 and R-5: $60.
[2] 
All other use groups: Calculated by Subsection A(1)(b) above.
(j) 
Tents: The fee for tents in excess of 900 square feet or more than 30 feet in any dimension shall be $129.
(k) 
Retaining walls.
[1] 
For walls associated with a Class 3 residential structure:
[a] 
Surface area of 550 feet or less: $106.
[b] 
Surface area of 551 feet or greater: $210.
[2] 
For any wall not associated with a Class 3 residential structure the fee shall be based on the cost of construction.
(l) 
Photovoltaic systems.
[1] 
Systems up to 10kw: $150.
[2] 
Systems greater than 10kw: $150 plus $15 for each kilowatt above 10.
(2) 
Plumbing subcode fees. The minimum fee for any permit issued under this section shall be $60.
(a) 
Fixtures and appliances. The fee per fixture for fixtures and appliances shall be $15, except as provided for in § 159-4A(2)(b).
(b) 
Special devices. The fee per device for grease traps, oil separators, water-cooled air-conditioning units, refrigeration units, utility service connections, backflow preventers, steam boilers, hot-water boilers (excluding those for domestic water heating), gas piping, gas service entrances, active solar systems, sewer pumps, interceptors and fuel oil piping shall be $75.
(c) 
Water connection:
[1] 
Use group R-5: $75.
[2] 
All other use groups: $100.
(d) 
Sewer connection:
[1] 
Use group R-5: $75.
[2] 
All other use groups: $100.
(e) 
Propane and similar tanks:
[1] 
Use group R-5: $75.
[2] 
All other use groups: $100.
(f) 
Pool drains:
[1] 
Use group R-5: $75.
[2] 
All other use groups: $100.
(3) 
Fire protection subcode fees. The minimum fee for any permit issued under this section shall be $60.
(a) 
The fee for fire protection and hazardous equipment, sprinklers, standpipes, detectors (smoke and heat), pre-engineered suppression systems, gas- and oil-fired appliances not connected to the plumbing system, kitchen exhaust systems, incinerators and crematoriums shall be as follows:
[1] 
One to 20 heads: $91.
[2] 
Twenty-one to 100 heads: $168.
[3] 
One hundred one to 200 heads: $321.
[4] 
Two hundred one to 400 heads: $831.
[5] 
Four hundred one to 1,000 heads: $1,150.
[6] 
Over 1,000 heads: $1,469.
(b) 
One to 12 detectors, $60; in addition, for each 25 detectors, $17.
(c) 
Standpipe, each: $321.
(d) 
Independent pre-engineered systems: $129.
(e) 
Gas- or oil-fired appliance not connected to the plumbing system, each: $60.
(f) 
Commercial kitchen exhaust system, each: $100.
(g) 
Incinerator, each: $511.
(h) 
Crematorium, each: $511.
(4) 
Electrical subcode fees. The minimum fee for any permit issued under this section shall be $60.
(a) 
Fixtures or receptacles. The fee for receptacles and fixtures which shall include lighting outlets, wall switches, electric discharge fixtures, convenience receptacles, sensors, dimmers, alarm devices, smoke and heat detectors, communications outlets, light standards eight feet or less in height including luminaries, emergency lights, electric signs, exit lights or similar electric fixtures and devices rated 20 amperes or less including motors or equipment rated less than one horsepower (hp) or one kilowatt (kw) shall be as follows:
[1] 
One to 25: $60.
[2] 
For each 25 additional: add $25.
[3] 
For each receptacle rated from 30 to 50 amperes: $25.
[4] 
For each light standard greater than eight feet in height: $25.
(b) 
Motors or electrical devices, each:
[1] 
Greater than one horsepower or kilowatt to 10 horsepower or kilowatts: $25.
[2] 
Greater than 10 horsepower or kilowatts to 50 horsepower or kilowatts: $50.
[3] 
Greater than 50 horsepower or kilowatts to 100 horsepower or kilowatts: $200.
[4] 
Greater than 100 horsepower: $500.
(c) 
Transformers and generators, each:
[1] 
Greater than one kilowatt to 10 kilowatts: $25.
[2] 
Greater than 10 kilowatts to 45 kilowatts: $50.
[3] 
Greater than 45 kilowatts to 112.5 kilowatts: $200.
[4] 
Greater than 112.5 kilowatts: $500.
(d) 
Service panels, service entrance or subpanel, each:
[1] 
One ampere to 225 amperes: $75.
[2] 
Greater than 225 amperes to 400 amperes: $150.
[3] 
Greater than 400 amperes to 1,000 amperes: $250.
[4] 
Greater than 1,000 amperes: $500.
(e) 
Pools.
[1] 
Use group R-5:
[a] 
Permit for installation of new aboveground swimming pool, spa, hot tub or fountain: $75.
[b] 
Permit for installation of new in-ground swimming pool: $100.
[2] 
All other use groups:
[a] 
Permit for installation of new swimming pool, spa, hot tub or fountain: $250.
[b] 
Annual inspection of public swimming pool, spa, hot tub or fountain: $60.
(f) 
Signs: $60.
(g) 
Installation of single- and multiple-station smoke or heat detectors and fire, burglar or security alarm systems in any one- or two-family dwelling: $60.
(h) 
Photovoltaic systems:
[1] 
Systems up to 10 kilowatts: $250 flat fee.
[2] 
Systems greater than 10 kilowatts shall be assessed a fee of $250 plus $25 per each additional kilowatt.
(i) 
Irrigation systems: $60.
(j) 
For the purpose of computing these fees, all motors, except those in plug-in appliances, shall be counted, including control equipment, generators, transformers and all heating, cooking or other devices consuming or generating electrical current.
(k) 
Inspection for restoration of power: $75.
(5) 
Mechanical fees. The minimum fee for any permit issued under this section shall be $60.
(a) 
Water heater: $60.
(b) 
Hot air furnace: $100.
(c) 
Steam boiler: $100.
(d) 
Hot water boiler: $100.
(e) 
Central air conditioner: $60.
(f) 
Combination heat and air conditioning (including package units): $100.
(g) 
Gas, oil, hydronic piping: $75.
(h) 
Fuel piping connections: $75.
(i) 
Gas piping connections: $75.
(j) 
LPG tank: $75.
(k) 
Oil tank: $75.
(l) 
Aboveground tank removal: $75.
(m) 
In-ground tank removal: $75.
(n) 
Chimney/vent: $75.
(o) 
Fireplace: $100.
(p) 
Pool heater: $100.
(q) 
Gas conversion: $75.
(6) 
Fees applicable to §§ 159-4A(1) through 159-4A(5) above.
(a) 
Plan review fee: 20% of the amount to be charged for a new construction permit.
(b) 
Basic construction fee. The sum of the parts computed on the basis of the volume or cost of construction, the number of plumbing fixtures and equipment, the number of electrical fixtures and devices and the number of sprinklers, standpipes and detectors (smoke and heat) at the unit rates provided herein, plus any special fees.
(c) 
Certificates and other permits.
[1] 
Demolition or removal permit.
[a] 
Structures less than 5,000 square feet in area and less than 30 feet in height (Use Group R-3 or R-5), and for structures on farms, including commercial farm buildings under N.J.A.C. 5:23-3.2(d): $92.
[b] 
Fuel tanks: $92.
[c] 
All other use groups: $168.
[2] 
Sign permit.
[a] 
Pylon signs shall be $6 per square foot for the first 100 square feet, $5 per square foot for the next 400 square feet, and $4 per square foot thereafter.
[b] 
Ground signs or wall signs shall be $3 per square foot for the first 100 square feet, $2 per square foot for the next 400 square feet, and $1 per square foot thereafter.
[3] 
Certificate of occupancy: $39.
[a] 
Certificate of occupancy granted pursuant to a change of use: $168.
[b] 
Certificate of continued occupancy issued under N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.23(c): $168.
[c] 
Renewal of a temporary certificate of occupancy: $39.
[4] 
Application for variation under N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.10.
[a] 
Class 1 structure: $821.
[i] 
Class 2 and Class 3 structures: $168.
[b] 
Resubmission of an application for a variation:
[i] 
Class 1 structure: $321.
[ii] 
Class 2 and Class 3 structures: $91.
[5] 
Annual permits.
[a] 
Construction permit. The fee for a construction permit shall be a flat fee based upon the number of maintenance workers who are employed by the facility, and who are primarily engaged in work that is governed by a subcode. Managers, engineers and clericals shall not be considered maintenance workers for the purpose of establishing the annual construction permit fee.
[b] 
Annual permits may be issued for building, fire protection, electrical and plumbing.
[c] 
One to 25 workers (including foreman), each: $933.
[d] 
Each additional worker over 25: $329.
[e] 
Prior to the issuance of an annual permit, a training registration fee of $196 per subcode and a list of not more than three individuals to be trained per subcode shall be submitted by the applicant to the Department of Community Affairs, Bureau of Code Services, Education Unit, along with a copy of the construction permit. Checks shall be made payable to "Treasurer, State of New Jersey."
[6] 
Reinstatement of lapsed permit: $60 per subcode.
[7] 
Elevator devices, where applicable, shall be in accordance with N.J.A.C. 5:23-12.6.
[8] 
Cross connections and backflow preventers that are subject to testing and require reinspection, each: $60.
[9] 
Relocation of structures permit. The following fees shall be assessed for relocation of buildings and structures to a new location, including premanufactured:
Estimated Cost of Work
Fee
$1 to $50,000
$35 per $1,000
$50,001 to $100,000
Add $26 per $1,000
Over $100,000
Add $22 per $1,000
B. 
A schedule of the instruction and subcode fees established by this chapter shall be posted in the office of the Construction Official and shall be made available to the public. Any fees not mentioned in the above fee schedule shall be the same as the fees assessed by the State of New Jersey as delineated within N.J.A.C. 5:23-4.20 or applicable regulation.
A. 
No person shall be charged a construction permit surcharge fee or enforcing agency fee for any construction, reconstruction, alteration or improvement designed and undertaken solely to promote accessibility by disabled persons to an existing public or private structure or any of the facilities contained therein.
B. 
A disabled person, or a parent or a sibling of a disabled person, shall not be required to pay any municipal fee or charge in order to secure a construction permit for any construction, reconstruction, alteration or improvement which promotes accessibility to his/her own living unit.
C. 
For the purposes of this section, "disabled person" means a person who has the total and permanent inability to engage in any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment, including blindness, and shall include, but not be limited to, any resident of this state who is disabled pursuant to the Federal Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. § 416) or the Federal Railroad Retirement Act of 1974 (45 U.S.C. § 231 et seq.), or is rated as having a 60% disability or higher pursuant to any federal law administered by the United States Veterans' Act. For purposes of this subsection, "blindness" means central visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the better eye with the use of a correcting lens. An eye which is accompanied by a limitation in the fields of vision such that the widest diameter of the visual field subtends an angle no greater than 20° shall be considered as having a central visual acuity of 20/200 or less.