[HISTORY: Adopted by the City Council of the City of Laconia 12-29-1975 as Ch. 21, Section 2, of the Public Ordinances of 1975; amended in its entirety 5-26-2009 by Ord. No. 07.2009.07. Subsequent amendments noted where applicable.]
Licensing — See Ch. 161.
The intent of this chapter is to ensure compliance of pawnshops to deal in legally obtained items.
As used in this chapter, the following terms shall have the meanings indicated:
- City of Laconia, New Hampshire.
- Includes United States currency, money orders, certified checks, traveler's checks, and any other item used as payment or barter of a pawned item.
- As defined in New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated Chapter 398.
- Any individual engaged in business as a pawnbroker as the
term used in RSA 398.[Amended 11-22-2010 by Ord. No. 05.2010.05]
- PERSONAL PROPERTY
- All property subject to ownership, except real estate.
- City of Laconia, New Hampshire Police Department.
- Any tangible item which could be, has been, or will be used for purchasing, selling, or bartering purposes.
- Any person receiving item(s) from a pawnbroker or his/her designee, whether by monetary funds or barter.
- State of New Hampshire.
- A business dealing conducted by a pawnbroker or his/her designee, whether by monetary funds or barter.
[Amended 11-22-2010 by Ord. No. 05.2010.05]
All pawnshops shall be duly licensed by the state if so required and by the City of Laconia Licensing Board pursuant to Chapter 161 of the City Code.
All items purchased by a pawnbroker or his/her designee shall require a name, address, and date of birth of the person selling or trading such item to the pawnbroker to be recorded and verified by properly issued government identification card. Any pawnshop accepting any type of property in lieu of payment in an amount greater than $100 U.S. dollars must pay the seller in the form of a check.
All pawnbrokers and their designee shall be required to provide the police with a written report of property received within 24 hours of taking such property. This report shall be in the form of a standard form provided by the police. Methods of reporting in written form can be completed by fax, postal mail, or by leaving the completed form in person at the police station. Electronic methods other than fax (i.e., e-mail or via website) may also be used at the discretion of the police.
No pawnbroker, pawnshop, or designee shall sell any item within 14 calendar days of acquiring such property. Should a need arise to sell such item prior to 14 days, a pawnbroker, pawnshop, or designee may do so only with the expressed written consent of the Chief of Police of the City or his/her designee. Such permission can only be granted on a case-by-case basis.
No pawnbroker/pawnshop shall accept and/or attempt to sell any property where a serial or registration number has been altered/changed/or destroyed. No pawnshop/pawnbroker shall accept any property from a subject under the age of 18 or any person regardless of age who is intoxicated by drugs and/or alcohol.
The penalties for violating this chapter shall be $100 U.S. dollars for the first offense and $250 U.S. dollars for each subsequent offense.