Borough of Buena, NJ
Atlantic County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents

§ 99-3 Licensing and registration.

A. 
Any person who shall own, keep or harbor a dogs of licensing age within the Borough of Buena shall, during the months of January, February or March of each year, apply for and procure from the Certified Animal Control Officer, or from the Clerk, a license and official metal registration tag for each such dog so owned, kept or harbored and shall place upon each such dog a collar or harness with the registration tag securely fastened thereto.
B. 
The owner of any newly acquired dog of licensing age or of any dog which attains licensing age shall make application for a license and registration tag for such dog within 10 days after such acquisition or age attainment.
C. 
Any person who shall bring or cause to be brought into the Borough of Buena any dog licensed in another state for the current year and bearing a registration tag, and shall keep the same or permit the same to be kept within the Borough of Buena for a period of more than 90 days, shall immediately apply for a license and registration tag for each such dog unless such dog is licensed under N.J.S.A. 4:19-15.8.
D. 
Any person who shall bring or cause to be brought into the Borough of Buena from another state any unlicensed dog, and shall keep the same or permit the same to be kept within the Borough of Buena for a period of more than 10 days, shall immediately apply for a license and registration tag for each such dog unless such dog is licensed under N.J.S.A. 4:19-15.8.

§ 99-4 License and registration fees.

[Amended 12-17-2012 by Ord. No. 601]
A. 
The owner of every dog, other than a dog which has been determined to be vicious or potentially dangerous, which is required to be licensed pursuant to N.J.S.A. 4:19-30 and 4:19-31, shall pay an annual license fees as follows:
Type of Fee
Spayed and Neutered Dogs
Non-Spayed and Non-Neutered Dog
Municipal fee
$5.80
$5.80
State registration fee
$1
$1
Pilot Clinic Fund, New Jersey
$0.20
$0.20
Animal Population Control Fund, New Jersey
$0
$3
Total
$7
$10
B. 
The municipal fees specified herein shall increase on a yearly basis commencing January 1, 2014 and on the first day of January of each year following at a rate of 2.5% rounded to the nearest dollar amount.

§ 99-5 Evidence of rabies vaccine inoculation required.

Neither the Certified Animal Control Officer nor the Borough Clerk shall grant any license and metal registration tag for any dog unless the owner thereof provides evidence that the dog to be licensed and registered has been inoculated with a rabies vaccine of the type approved and administered in accordance with the United States Department of Health, Education and Welfare or has been certified exempt as provided by the regulations of the State Department of Health. Such vaccination shall be repeated at intervals as provided by the regulations of the State Department of Health and shall be administered by a duly licensed veterinarian or by such other veterinarian permitted by law to do the same. Applicants for three-year licenses shall submit a three-year rabies certification.

§ 99-6 Removal of registration tag.

No person, except the Certified Animal Control Officer in the performance of his duties or a county or state official so authorized by law, shall remove a registration tag from the collar of any dog without the consent of the owner, nor shall any person attach a registration tag to a dog for which it was not issued.

§ 99-7 Violations and penalties.

Any person who violates the provisions of this Article II or provisions of N.J.S.A. 4:19-15.2, 15.4, 15.6, 15.7, 15.8, 15.10, or 15.18, or the rules and regulations promulgated by the State Department of Health, shall be liable to a penalty of not less than $5 nor more than $50 for each offense, to be recovered by and in the name of the Borough of Buena, except that for the first offense in cases of violations of failing to license a dog as set forth above, the penalty shall be not less than $1 nor more than $50 to be recovered in the name of the municipality.