Town of Brookfield, CT
Fairfield County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Selectmen of the Town of Brookfield 10-12-1976. Amendments noted where applicable.]
GENERAL REFERENCES
Parking — See Ch. 168.
Vehicles and traffic — See Ch. 207.
The Board of Selectmen is hereby designated as the Traffic Authority for the Town of Brookfield. Said Traffic Authority and/or the Fire Marshal of the Town of Brookfield are authorized to designate fire lanes and fire zones pursuant to the provisions of the Connecticut General Statutes and the Fire Safety Code of the State of Connecticut. Whenever such a fire zone or fire lane is so designated, the Traffic Authority and/or Fire Marshal shall cause to be erected or installed adequate signs, markings and other devices to delineate such fire zones and fire lanes. Such signs and markings shall be installed, if the premises are privately owned, at the expense of the owner and shall be erected by the owner within 30 days after receipt of written notice from the Fire Marshal or Traffic Authority directing the installation of such signs and markings. Such signs and markings shall conform to federal and state requirements for uniform traffic control devices.
No person shall park or permit to stand a motor vehicle in a fire lane or fire zone.
A. 
Whenever any vehicle is found parked or standing in a fire zone or fire lane, it may be removed by or under the direction of a State Trooper, Brookfield Constable or Brookfield police officer, by means of towing or otherwise, to a public or private parking facility located within the Town of Brookfield. Such removal of any vehicle shall be deemed the abatement of a nuisance and shall be at the risk of the owner or person entitled to the possession of such vehicle. Any vehicle so removed shall be impounded and shall continue to be impounded until the fees and charges provided in this chapter shall be paid by the owner or person entitled to possession thereof.
B. 
The State Trooper, Constable or police officer directing the impounding of any such vehicle shall make a prompt report to the Chief of Police and shall cause notice of the impoundment to be sent to the owner of record of such vehicle within 48 hours from the time of such removal, indicating the place to which such vehicle has been removed and the reason for its removal and impounding.
A. 
No person shall be permitted to remove from a public or private parking facility any vehicle impounded under the provisions of this chapter unless such person reports to the office of the Chief of Police and:
(1) 
Furnishes satisfactory evidence of his identity and ownership of the vehicle or agency on behalf of the owner or other right to immediate possession.
(2) 
Pays a violation fee of $50 for the parking violation to the Town of Brookfield.
[Amended 2-5-1996]
(3) 
Exhibits a receipt and authorization from the Chief of Police or his designated representative indicating that the violation fee has been paid and pays for the storage of the vehicle and the costs of towing or removing the vehicle, which storage and towing charges shall be retained by the person or firm who did the towing.
B. 
The removing, towing and storage charges provided in this chapter shall be a lien upon such impounded vehicle, and the payment thereof shall not release or relieve the owner or his agent from prosecution for any violation of law which may have been involved from the circumstances which resulted in the impounding of such vehicle.
C. 
When any impounded vehicle is returned to its owner or any person on behalf of the owner, such person or owner shall sign a receipt for the vehicle.
[Amended 2-5-1996]
In the event that a vehicle is parked or found standing in a designated fire zone or fire lane but has not been removed by towing, the owner or driver shall pay a violation fee of $50 to the Town of Brookfield for such illegal parking or standing.
In any prosecution or proceeding hereunder, there shall be a prima facie presumption that the owner of such vehicle was the person who parked such vehicle at the place where such violation occurred.
Any person who violates the provisions of this chapter and fails to pay all fines, fees and charges resulting from said violation within seven days from the date of the violation shall be prosecuted and shall be fined not more than $100 or be imprisoned not more than 30 days, or both, and shall be subject to the provisions of Section 14-111 of the Connecticut General Statutes, as amended.